​​​The DI was established with the explicit purpose of responding to the needs of the Arab world through encouraging and preparing a new generation of academics, researchers and practitioners.

In order to further this mission, programs of study spanning the social sciences, humanities, public administration and development economics have been carefully and consciously designed by a distinguished group of academics and experts. Of paramount importance was to ensure that these programs maintained relevance to Arab students and to the Arab world while providing critical international perspectives.

The use of Arabic as the primary language of instruction is imperative in this regard and will allow students to develop their ideas within their context and, crucially, their societies. At the same time the DI will give students the opportunity to develop their English to an academic level in order to communicate with their peers internationally and follow their research.

The academic ethos of the DI is based on integrating research and learning whereby students are able to relate theory to practice and vice-versa. Through this experience students will establish strong relationships with a diverse and committed community of faculty, staff and, most significantly, their colleagues, who have come to the DI from across the Arab world and beyond. These individuals bring with them their own experiences and perspectives, fostering a cross-disciplinary environment that promotes dynamic analysis and academic rigor. The core courses in both the School of Social Sciences and Humanities and the School of Public Administration and Development Economics​ are instrumental in establishing these relationships and furthering these discussions and debates.

The DI welcomes students who value this approach and who demonstrate exceptional academic and research abilities and qualifications. The student body will comprise those that have the most potential to benefit from the programs of study and contribute to the DI community. For this reason, the DI is dedicated to ensuring that students receive the necessary support throughout their graduate studies.

The DI believes it has a special and necessary role to play in the Arab region and invites motivated students to participate in its development and success.  

​​

​أُسس معهد الدوحة لتحقيق هدفٍ مهمٍ يتعلق أساسًا في الاستجابة لاحتياجات بلدان الوطن العربي عن طريق إعداد جيلٍ جديدٍ من الأكاديميين والباحثين والمهنيين ودعمه.

ومن أجل بلوغ هذا الهدف، جرى وضع برامج ماجستير في العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية والإدارة العامة واقتصاديات التنمية بعناية فائقة من قبل فريقٍ من الأكاديميين والخبراء البارزين في هذه المجالات. وقد تم الأخذ في الحسبان عند وضع هذه البرامج ارتباط الطلاب العرب بالوطن العربي، وفي الوقت نفسه تزويدهم برؤى نقدية دولية.

ويعدّ استخدام اللغة العربية لغةً للتدريس أساسيًا في جميع البرامج في المعهد؛ إذ يسهم ذلك في تطوير أفكار الطلاب ضمن سياقهم المجتمعي. وفي الوقت نفسه، يمكّن المعهد طلابه من تطوير مهاراتهم في اللغة الإنجليزية على المستوى الأكاديمي من أجل تسهيل تواصلهم مع العالم ومواكبة الأبحاث العلمية. 

ترتكز الرؤية الأكاديمية في معهد الدوحة على دمج البحث العلمي بالتعلّم؛ بحيث يستطيع الطلاب الربط بين النظري والتطبيقي. وتسمح هذه التجربة للطلاب بتأسيس علاقات وثيقة مع مجتمعٍ مكونٍ من أساتذة المعهد وموظفيه، وبشكل خاص مع زملائهم القادمين من خلفيات متنوعة من مختلف أنحاء الوطن العربي وخارجه؛ فهؤلاء يحضرون معهم تجارب ورؤى خاصة بهم، مما يعزز البيئة العابرة للتخصصات في المعهد ويشجع التحليل النقدي والدقة الأكاديمية. وسوف يكون للمقررات التأسيسية في كلٍ من كلية العلوم الاجتماعيةوالعلوم الإنسانية وكلية الإدارة العامة واقتصاديات التنمية أثر فعّال في وضع أساس العلاقات وتعزيز النقاش.

يرحب المعهد بجميع الطلاب الذين يثمّنون هذا النهج، ويظهرون قدرات أكاديمية وبحثية استثنائية. إنّ الطلاب الذين لديهم هذه القدرات مؤهلون للاستفادة من البرامج الدراسية للمعهد وبناء مجتمع علمي فيه. لذلك، يلتزم المعهد توفير الدعم الضروري لهم طوال فترة دراساتهم العليا.

ويؤمن المعهد بأنّ لديه دورًا مميزًا ومهمًا في المنطقة العربية، وهو يرحب بالطلاب المصمّمين على المشاركة في التطوّر والنجاح.