​​The development of the library commenced in 2010, in parallel with the establishment of the Arab Center for Research and Policy Studies (ACRPS). 

In line with the mission of the DI, the library's collection is dedicated to the social sciences, humanities and public administration. Already, the library contains more than 36,000 titles in Arabic, English, French, German and Turkish languages. It also contains more than 80 magazines, journals and scientific reviews, 19 in languages other than Arabic.

A plan of acquisition and collection development is ongoing and is responsive to the developing needs of the ACRPS as well as the future academic needs of the DI. It is anticipated that the library will hold 4​0,000 titles by Fall 2015, the time of the DI's inauguration. By 2020, the library will have 150,000 titles spanning the disciplines and research areas of the DI.

The DI library also benefits from the services offered by the Qatar National Library , whereby open access to more than 160 databases of e-books and e-journals is available. Plans are underway to exchange resources with other research institutions as well as to make the library accessible to the academic community in Qatar.​

​​ 

تأسّست المكتبة في عام 2010، وذلك بالتوازي مع تأسيس المركز العربي للأبحاث ودراسة السياسات في الدوحة. 

 وتماشيًا مع رسالة المعهد، تتضمن المكتبة مقتنيات متخصّصة في العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية والإدارة العامة. وتشتمل حاليًا على أكثر من 36000 عنوان باللغة العربية والإنجليزية والفرنسية والألمانية والتركية. كما أنها تضم أكثر من 80 دورية، منها 19 دورية بلغات غير اللغة العربية.

يجري العمل حاليًا على خطة للتوسّع في اقتناء مصادر المعلومات وبناء المجموعات، بحيث تكون ملبية للحاجات التنموية للمركز العربي، بالإضافة إلى الحاجات الأكاديمية للمعهد في المستقبل. ونسعى من خلال هذه الخطة لاقتناء ما يزيد على 40000 عنوانٍ قبل الافتتاح الرسمي للمكتبة في أيلول/ سبتمبر 2015. وتستمر خطة التوسّع في المكتبة لتحقيق هدف الوصول إلى نحو 150000 عنوانٍ في​ عام 2020.

وتتمتع مكتبة المعهد أيضًا بالخدمات التي تقدّمها مكتبة قطر الوطنية  المزوِّدة لأكثر من 160 قاعدة بيانات تتعلق بالكتب والمجلات الإلكترونية مجانًا. كما يجرى في الوقت الحالي تحقيق خطة تبادل الموارد مع مؤسسات بحثية أخرى، بالإضافة إلى جعل المكتبة في متناول المجتمع الأكاديمي في قطر.