What is Social Work?

The purpose of social work, a profession dedicated to helping individuals, families, and communities, is to promote and enhance human and community well-being. This involves (1) the quest for social and economic justice, (2) the prevention of conditions that limit human rights, (3) the elimination of poverty, and (4) the enhancement of the quality of life for all persons, locally and globally.

Our Mission

Our mission is "to educate, train, and empower a new generation of professional social work practitioners and researchers, who are prepared to empower and to meet the human needs of people in Qatar, the region, the Arab World and global community, and enhance their quality of life and well-being, with specific attention to those who are poor, vulnerable, and oppressed. It also prepares graduates for leadership in the community and to contribute to the knowledge base for the profession".

Our Goals

  1. To develop an advanced social work graduate program in Qatar and the Arab World to meet complex contemporary challenges;
  2. To develop human resources suitable for the changing demography of Qatar and the Arab World;
  3. To produce a new cohort of community leaders and advocates to respond to the emerging socio-economic challenges in Qatar and the Arab World;
  4. To provide social work and research skills to promote and advance the well-being of individuals and families, especially those from disadvantaged communities;
  5. To ensure healthy and safe communities by responding to their needs through social work as a profession and the development of new effective social programs.

Our Distinguishing Features

  1. A focus on producing advanced level community leaders and clinical practitioners who are prepared to initiate community level projects that provide much needed support for the enhancement of human well-being in the region;
  2. An incorporation of international standards for an educational  program in the region that is  capable of meeting the contemporary challenges, especially as the region faces armed conflicts and the subsequent displacement of populations across the Middle East and North Africa;
  3. A focus on promoting community development and social justice for all local communities regardless of their religious or ethnic backgrounds, and working towards meeting the Qatar 2030 National Vision and the UN sustainable development goals;
  4. A commitment to use the most up to date research and technology for teaching, and to produce relevant knowledge through research that produces a leading regional educational program;
  5. A focus on research that will enable graduates to document, monitor and evaluate their practice and improve the effectiveness of services;
  6. A requirement to undertake a field placement that will enhance existing services and training opportunities for practitioners in human service agencies, schools and mental health organizations; and
  7. Incorporation of international standards that prepare students for Ph.D. programs in social work and social research.  This aims to address the lack of much needed social work academics in Qatar, and the Middle East, as well as future professionals for the United Nations, international non-governmental organizations, the Qatari Ministry of Labor and Human Services, the Qatari Regulatory Authority of Charitable Activities, and other governmental offices. 

Program Structure and Study Plans

The MSW program is divided into required core courses (39 credits), elective courses (6 credits), and a capstone project (3 credits). In addition, 750 clock-hours of field education (internship) are required to obtain the MSW degree. The two-year detailed plan is as follows:

A. Community Development Track (48 Credits)

 FIRST YEARSECOND YEAR
SEMESTER I SEMESTER II SEMESTER III SEMESTER IV



COURSES

(3 Credits)

​ ​ ​
Direct Social Work Practice I Direct Social Work Practice IIIntroduction to Community DevelopmentAdvanced Community Organizing
Human Behavior &
Social Environment I
Human Behavior & Social Environment IILeadership & Organizational BehaviorCommunity Empowerment for Change
Social Welfare Policy & Services ISocial Welfare Policy & Services IIElectiveElective
Research MethodsData AnalysisProgram EvaluationCapstone
 12 Credits12 Credits12 Credits12 Credits
PRACTICUM (Credits)

Field Education I

(P/F)

Field Education II

(P/F)

Field Education III

(P/F)

Field Education IV

(P/F)


B. Clinical Practice Track (will be offered in fall 2018)

 




COURSES 

(3 Credits Each)

​ ​ ​
FIRST YEARSECOND YEAR
SEMESTER I SEMESTER II SEMESTER III SEMESTER IV
Direct Social Work Practic I Direct Social Work 
Practice II

Clinical Practice I

Clinical Practice II
Human Behavior & Social Environment IHuman Behavior & Social  Environment IIField of Practice IField of Practice II
Social Welfare Policy & Services ISocial Welfare Policy & Services IIElectiveElective
Research MethodsData AnalysisProgram EvaluationCapstone
 12 Credits12 Credits12 Credits12 Credits
PRACTICUM
(Credits)

Field Education I

(P/F)

Field Education II

(P/F)

Field Education III

(P/F)

Field Education IV

(P/F)





SWK610 Research Methods

This is the first of three required courses on social work research for MSW students. This course enables students to become better acquainted with how to evaluate their own practice and provides the analytical skills to assess the validity of the research literature.  This course will touch on several content areas related to research:  (a) hidden agendas and political and ethical concerns when conducting research, (b) problem formulation generating research questions and hypotheses, (c) systematic valid and reliable information gathering techniques, (d) single subject, group research, and cross-sectional designs, (e) qualitative vs. quantitative modalities, and (f) analysis, interpretation, and reporting of findings. 

SWK641 Field Education II

During Field Education II students are exposed to carry out needs and resource assessments of clients, conduct an analysis of information gained from clients, engage clients in the problem-solving process and write a psychosocial assessment. Students also learn about helping modalities at different systems' levels.  Additionally, they develop beginning understanding and skills about clinical practice and community-level interventions.

SWK611A Direct Social Work Practice I

This is the first of the two required courses, taken in conjunction with SWK640 (Field Education I) for graduate students as a co-requisite. It presents essential social work foundation knowledge and skills for interpersonal practice with individuals, families and small groups. It integrates content on social justice issues and it relies on the historical, contextual, and social science knowledge presented concurrently in the Human Behavior and the Social Environment course. The student's field experience and future practice methods courses will build upon the skills presented in this basic course.

SWK611B Direct Social Work Practice II

The course builds and extends on SWK611A (prerequisite). content on the knowledge and skills needed for social work practice with individuals, families, groups, organizations, and communities. The main emphasis of the course is to enhance the role performance and social functioning of social work practitioners. The course emphasizes the middle phase of work with clients, as well as evaluation and termination. The development of skills required to facilitate the interaction of client systems and environments is highlighted, using a systems perspective in relation to problem solving. Such topics as the worker/client relationship, crisis intervention, the linking of clients to resources, and alleviation of environmental stressors are considered. The SWK 611B is taken in conjunction with Field Instruction II as a co-requisite.

SWK612A Human Behavior and Social Environment I

This is the first of two interrelated courses extending over two semesters in the foundation year.  The course focuses on the person and the environment. It will cover contents related to theory, research and practice issues relevant to human growth and development within the environmental systems. In particular, the course provides students with knowledge and understanding of multidimensional approaches and their interactions in shaping human development and behavior across the life span. These include biological, psychological, sociological, and spiritual dimensions. Furthermore, the course covers environmental dimensions related to human development and behavior, including physical environment, social structure and social institutions, families, and small groups' dimensions. Finally, this course includes content on the strengths perspective and empowerment  practice in order to help students to understand the ways in which social systems impact the well-being of human beings and other social units in our society.

SWK612B Human Behavior and Social Environment II

This second course on HBSE focuses on the human development throughout the life span. Human behavior is presented as a biopsychosocial phenomenon, and students will learn how to utilize theories and conceptual frameworks to guide the process of assessment, intervention and evaluation, with the application of knowledge to understand the person in the environment.  Values, ethics, and the promotion of social and economic justice are examined in relation to the interaction of the biological, psychological and societal systems. This course examines the impacts of ethnic, socio-cultural, religious/spiritual and gender diversity on human behavior.  These factors are examined as they affect individual development, social groups, communities, and family systems.  Knowledge and practice implications for Muslim communities will be addressed. Specifically, this course will address how social systems promote or deter people in achieving and maintaining good health and well-being.

SWK613A Social Welfare Policy & Services I

This is the first of two required courses on social welfare policy and services. Students will learn about the history of social welfare policy, services, and the social work profession.  They will also learn about current social welfare issues in the context of their history and the underlying rationale and values that support different approaches.  Emphasis will be placed on major fields of social work service such as health care, mental health, child welfare, corrections, immigration, displaced population, and gerontology. The course will cover conceptual foundations of social welfare policy, social justice and civil rights, social policies in the Arab world and in specific Qatar social policy. In addition, the course will cover content related to funding social programs, Islam and social welfare policy, social safety nets, work and employment policies, and population policies. The course will end up with a comparison between various international social welfare policies and services.

SWK613B Social Welfare Policy & Services II

This course is the second of two required foundation courses on social welfare policy and services (Policy I is pre-requisite). The course focuses on understanding major socioeconomic issues that affect societies, with special emphasis on issues pertinent to Qatari Society and to GCC in general. These include, poverty, unemployment, foreign labor, national and human security and the various ways in which society has responded to it over time. Students in this class will learn about policy advocacy, skills and competencies for policy analysis, and the ecology and context of social policy. Students will also learn about presenting and defending policy proposals, developing political strategy, and policy advocacy and implementation.

SWK614 Data Analysis

This is the second of three required courses on research methods for MSW students. It builds on Research Methods I (pre-requisite). This course covers several content areas related to quantitative & qualitative data analysis. These areas include (a) social work research code of ethics, (b) SPSS & data preparation for entry in SPSS, (c) Descriptive statistics: Frequency distributions, graphical presentation of data, and measures of central tendency and variability, (d) Normal and skewed distributions, (e) Identify steps in hypothesis testing: Research hypotheses, Type I- & Type II-errors, & statistical significance, (f) Inferential statistics: Parametric vs. non-parametric tests, (g) Guidelines for test selection, (h) Bivariate statistical techniques: Pearson's correlation coefficient, Student's t-tests, One-way analysis of variance (ANOVA), and Chi-square test, and (i) Presentation, interpretation, and reporting of findings.

SWK640 Field Education I

Assignments in Field Education I are designed to identify and assess the student's ability to explore problem solving skills and strategies that are utilized in various social work systems that address issues important to vulnerable and at-risk population groups. Students are exposed to professional practice, agency policies, agency processes and services, and ethical dilemmas in social work practice. They observe their supervisors, conduct intake assessments, and learn to write process recordings and document their work. They also gain verbal, written and electronic communication skills. The cultural context of services is also emphasized.

SWK615 Introduction to Community Development

This is the first of a series of advanced courses on community development. It provides students in the Community Development track with a theoretical and practical introduction to the field of community assessment and development. The course introduces students to basic community development and organizing concepts, and the importance of social, cultural, and environmental systems to the success of community development. The course helps students develop skills in community assessment, intervention planning, advocacy, and group facilitation.  Students will also learn technical assistance approaches for rural, inner city, and youth development, as well as issues related to eradication of poverty and sustainable development.

SWK616 Leadership and Organizational Behavior

Coming soon.

SWK617 Program Evaluation

This is an advanced research course, which adds depth and breadth to the research knowledge and skills that students acquired in both Research Methods and Data Analysis (pre-requisites). The course is designed to prepare social work students to develop, use, critically assess, and effectively communicate empirically based knowledge in developing and evaluating their own practice and human and social service programs.  The course introduces students to various systematic evaluation methods that measure the needs, effectiveness, fairness, and efficiency of various interventions in achieving their objectives and desired outcomes for various stakeholders with particular focus on needs assessment and community development. The course emphasizes the importance of evidence-based practice, accountability, ethical practice, and the profession's advocacy role in improving and monitoring practice, policy, and human service delivery.  In addition, this course emphasizes appropriate evaluation techniques for promoting social justice for at-risk populations.

SWK618 Advanced Community Organizing

This course builds up on Introduction to Community Development, which is a pre-requisite for this course. This course is taken in the second semester of the advanced year. The course will prepare students to gain advanced understanding of the community, its needs, assessment, development of grant proposal and program startup. Students will learn about various concepts and theories (e.g., systems theory, conflict theory, rational choice theory, etc.) that help us understand communities, power, politics, economic resources, and various personal characteristics (gender, ethnicity, etc.) and how they shape community life.

SWK619 Community Empowerment for Change

This course is the last of a series of advanced courses on community development. It builds up on Introduction to Community Development, Advanced Community Organizing, and Program Evaluations, which are pre-requisites for this course. The course includes examination of methods of community development in which people are empowered to join together and develop community-based programs and services at the local level to create community change. It emphasizes ways in which community members can take initiative, contribute to collective action, and help themselves through community-based economic and social development in health and human services, education, and housing and neighborhood revitalization projects. Special emphasis is placed on initiatives, which involve individuals and families in positive pluralist efforts for development and building upon strengths and resources of members of the community rather than focusing on their needs and problems. Special attention will be paid to the link between development, empowerment and sustainability.

SWK642 Field Education III

Coming soon.

SWK643 Field Education IV

Coming soon.

SWK698 Capstone

Coming soon.


Clinical Practice I

Coming soon.

Clinical Practice II

Coming soon.

Field Practice I

Coming soon.

Field Practice II

Coming soon

Program Evaluation

Coming soon.

Capstone

Coming soon.

SWK621 Social Work with Displaced Populations I

This course focuses on victims and survivors of disasters. It covers broad processes of uprooting, displacement, resettlement, and adaptation in relation to survivors of natural and man-made disasters. It includes definitions, methodological and conceptual issues; causes and responses to disasters, policies, policy analysis, and levels of interventions. The course will conclude with an examination of critical issues in social work with the survivors of disasters.

SWK622 Social Work with Displaced Populations II

This course focuses on the causes of international displacement, both forced and voluntary and theories of migration. It will analyze the involvement of the international community in providing assistance to refugees and the internally displaced; international and national policies for refugees, immigrants, and international migrants; identify programs for internally displaced persons; study the dual impact of trauma associated with uprooting, and the cultural change confronting refugees and immigrants (critical issues) when they enter the Qatar and other Middle Eastern Countries; assess selected repatriation efforts; and will discuss the challenges of serving refugees, immigrants, and international migrants.

SWK623 Social Work and Law

This course examines the role of the law and its influence on social work practice. Students will examine and analyze critically the impact of specific court decisions and their impact on current practice and on their clients. The course will present an in-depth analysis of both International Humanitarian Law (IHL) and Human Rights Law (HRL).  In addition, the course will focus on the basic rights of a human being from political, economic, social and cultural aspects in peoples' lives as well as the importance and significance of both national and international legislations in protecting and actualizing human rights, with special focus on humanitarian assistance to people affecting by various types of internal and external conflicts.

SWK624 Social Work in Mental Health Settings I

Coming soon.

SWK625 Social Work in Mental Health Settings II

Coming soon.

SWK626 Family and Child Welfare

Coming soon.

SWK627 Social Work and Gerontology

Coming soon.

ما هو العمل الاجتماعي؟

العمل الاجتماعي هو مهنة لمساعدة الأفراد والأسر والمجتمعات المحلية بهدف تعزيز رفاهية الانسان والمجتمع، ويتم تحقيق هذا الهدف من خلال: (1) تحقيق العدالة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية، (2) الوقاية من الظروف التي تحد من حقوق الانسان، (3) القضاء على الفقر، و(4) تعزيز جودة حياة الإنسان والمجتمع، محلياً وعربياً وعالمياً.

رسالة البرنامج

رسالتنا هي تثقيف وتمكين جيل جديد من الأخصائيين الممارسين للعمل الاجتماعي، والباحثين القادرين على تعزيز قدرات، وتلبية حاجات شعب قطر والمنطقة والعالم العربي والمجتمعات الدولية، وكذلك تحسين مستوى حياتهم ورفاهيتهم، مع التركيز بالأخص على الفقراء والضعفاء والمظلومين، كما نهدف إلى إعداد خريجينا ليصبحوا قادة في المجتمع، وليساهموا في بنا مهنة قائمة على المعرفة.

أهــــدافنا

1- تطوير برنامج متقدم للدراسات العليا في العمل الاجتماعي في قطر والعالم العربي لمواجهة تحديات القرن الحادي والعشرين المعقدة.

2- تطوير الموارد البشرية للديموغرافيا المتغيرة في قطر والعالم العربي.

3- إنتاج مجموعة جديدة من قادة المجتمع والمناصرين من أجل الاستجابة للتحديات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الناشئة في قطر والعالم العربي.

4- تزويد الطلبة بمهارات مهنية وبحثية لتعزيز رفاهية الأفراد والأسر، خصوصاً المجتمعات المهمشة والفقيرة.

5- تطوير مجتمعات صحية وآمنة بالاستجابة لاحتياجاتها من خلال مهنة العمل الاجتماعي وبرامج اجتماعية فعالة جديدة.

أهم مميزات البرنامج

  1. التركيز على إنتاج قادة مجتمعيين وأخصائيين اجتماعيين لديهم معرفة ومهارات متقدمة مؤهلين لعمل مبادارات مجتمعية لتقديم الدعم اللازم من أجل تحسين رفاهية الإنسان في المنطقة.

  2. إدراج المعايير الدولية لبرنامج تعليمي في المنطقة قادر على مواجهة تحديات القرن الحادي والعشرين، خاصة وأن المنطقة تواجه تحديات أبرزها النزاعات المسلحة وما يرتبط بها من نزوح للسكان في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.

  3. التركيز على تعزيز التنمية المجتمعية والعدالة الاجتماعية لجميع المجتمعات المحلية بغض النظر عن جنسيتهم وعرقهم وخلفياتهم العرقية، والعمل على تحقيق رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030 وأهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة.

  4. الالتزام باستخدام أحدث المعارف والتكنولوجيا للتعليم، وإنتاج المعرفة ذات الصلة من خلال البحوث من أجل الوصول إلى برنامج تعليمي رائد في البلاد والمنطقة.

  5. التركيز على البحوث التي تمكن الخريجين من توثيق ورصد وتقييم ممارستهم وتحسين فعالية الخدمات؛

  6. توفير التدريب الميداني الذي سيعزز الخدمات الحالية، وفرص التدريب للممارسين في مؤسسات الخدمات الإنسانية والمدارس ومؤسسات الصحة النفسية.

  7. دمج المعايير الدولية لإعداد الطلبة لدرجة الدكتوراه في مجال العمل الاجتماعي والبحوث الاجتماعية، والتي بدورها ستساهم في تخريج أكاديميين في تخصص العمل الاجتماعي في قطر، والشرق الأوسط، بالإضافة إلى تخريج متخصصين مهنيين للعمل في الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية، ووزارة العمل والخدمات الإنسانية القطرية، والهيئة التنظيمية القطرية للجمعيات الخيرية، وغيرها من المؤسسات الحكومية.

هيكل البرنامج والخطط الدراسية

ينقسم برنامج العمل الاجتماعي إلى: (39 ساعة) مقررات إلزامية، (6 ساعات) مقررات اختيارية، ومشروع تخرج (3 ساعات)، بالإضافة إلى  750 ساعة من التعليم الميداني (تدريب) يكملها الطالب قبل أن يحصل على شهادة الماجستير في العمل الاجتماعي. وفيما يلي الخطة الدراسية للسنتين الدراسيتين في كل مسار.

أ. مسار التنمية المجتمعية (48 ساعة)

​السنة الأولى

​السنة الثانية

الفصل الأول

​الفصل الثاني

​الفصل الثالث 

الفصل الرابع

المقررات
 ​(3 ساعات)

​ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي I

​​ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي II

​مدخل إلى التنمية المجتمعية

أساليب متقدمة في تنظيم المجتمع​

​السلوك الإنساني والبيئة الاجتماعية I

​السلوك الإنساني والبيئة الاجتماعية II

القيادة والسلوك التنظيمي​

تمكين المجتمع من أجل التغيير​

​سياسة الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية I

​​سياسة الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية II

مقرر اختياري​

​مقرر اختياري

​مناهج البحث

​تحليل البيانات

تقييم البرامج ​

مشروع تخرج​

12 ساعة

​12 ساعة

​12 ساعة

​12 ساعة

التدريب العملي

تدريب ميداني - جزء 1

(نجاح / رسوب)

تدريب ميداني - جزء 2

(نجاح / رسوب)

تدريب ميداني - جزء 3

(نجاح / رسوب)

تدريب ميداني - جزء 4

(نجاح / رسوب)​



ب. مسار الممارسة الإكلينيكية (48 ساعة) سيتم طرح هذا المسار في خريف 2018

​السنة الأولى

​ ​السنة الثانية

الفصل الأول

الفصل الثاني

​الفصل الثالث 

الفصل الرابع


المقررات
 ​(3 ساعات)

​ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي - جزء 1

ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي - جزء 2

​الممارسة الإكلينيكية المتقدمة - جزء 1

الممارسة الإكلينيكية المتقدمة - جزء 2​

​السلوك الإنساني والبيئة الاجتماعية I

​السلوك الإنساني والبيئة الاجتماعية II

التدريب العملي I​

التدريب العملي II​

​سياسة الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية I

سياسة الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية II​​

مقرر اختياري​

​مقرر اختياري

​مناهج البحث

​تحليل البيانات

تقييم البرامج ​

مشروع تخرج​

12 ساعة

​12 ساعة

​12 ساعة

​12 ساعة

التدريب العملي

تدريب ميداني - جزء 1

(نجاح / رسوب)

تدريب ميداني - جزء 2

(نجاح / رسوب)

تدريب ميداني - جزء 3

(نجاح / رسوب)

تدريب ميداني - جزء 4

(نجاح / رسوب)

SWK610 مناهج البحث

هذا المقرر هو الأول من ثلاث مقررات إلزامية في مجال البحث العلمي في العمل الاجتماعي لطلاب برنامج العمل الاجتماعي. يُمكن هذا المقرر الطلاب من التعرف بشكل أعمق على كيفية تقييم خبراتهم الخاصة ويقدم لهم المهارات التحليلية اللازمة لتقييم صدق وصحة الأدبيات البحثية. كما ويتناول هذا المقرر مجالات عديدة ذات الصلة بالبحث العلمي: أ- الأجندات المخفية والاهتمامات السياسية والأخلاقية عند إجراء البحوث العلمية. ب- صياغة الإشكالية التي تؤدي إلى بلورة أسئلة البحث وفرضياته. ج- التقنيات المنهجية الصحيحة والموثوقة في جمع البيانات، د- الوسائل الكمية والكيفية، وأخيرًا هـ- تحليل وتفسير وعرض النتائج المستخلصة.

ِSWK611A ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي - جزء 1

هذا المقرر هو الأول ضمن المقررين الأساسيين الإلزاميين في مجال ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي، ويؤخذ بالتزامن مع مقرر (التدريب الميداني 1). يقدم هذا المقرر أساسيات المعرفة في العمل الاجتماعي ومهاراته اللازمة للتفاعل الشخصي مع الأفراد والعائلات والمجموعات الصغيرة. وهو يشتمل على محتوى يتعلق بقضايا العدالة الاجتماعية، ويستند على المعرفة التاريخية والسياقية وتلك المتوفرة في العلوم الاجتماعية، وبشكل متزامن مع المعرفة التي يقدمها مقرر السلوك الإنساني والبيئة الاجتماعية. تعتمد تجربة الطالب/ـة في التدريب الميداني ومقررات الممارسة المهنية التي سيأخذها الطالب/ة لاحقا على المهارات التي يقدمها هذا المقرر الأساسي.

SWK611B ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي - جزء 2

هذا المقرر هو الثاني من المقررين الإلزاميين في مجال ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي. يزود هذا المقرر الطالب/ـة بأطر معرفية وقيم ومهارات لتلبية الاحتياجات الفردية والعائلية وذلك من خلال التدخل مع المجموعات الصغيرة، والمجتمعات المحلية، والمنظمات. وهو يشتمل على محتوى يتعلق بقضايا العدالة الاجتماعية، ويستند إلى المعرفة التاريخية والسياقية وتلك المتحصلة في العلوم الاجتماعية، ويقدمها بشكل متزامن مع مقرر السلوك الإنساني والبيئة الاجتماعية. تعتمد تجربة الطالب/ـة في التدريب الميداني ومقررات الممارسة المهنية التي سيأخذها الطالب/ة لاحقاً على المهارات التي يقدمها هذا المقرر أيضا.

SWK612B السلوك الإنساني والبيئة الاجتماعية – جزء 2

هذا المقررهو الثاني ضمن المقررات الأساسية لدراسة السلوك الإنساني والبيئة لطلاب برنامج العمل الاجتماعي. يقدم السلوك الانساني في هذا المقرر بوصفه ظاهرة بيولوجية-سيكولوجية-اجتماعية biopsychosocial، وسيتعلم الطلاب كيف يستخدمون النظريات والأطر المفاهيمية كدليل في عملية تقييم الاحتياجات والتدخل والتقييم النهائي، مع التركيز على تطبيق المعرفة الضرورية لفهم الشخص في بيئته. وسيجري دراسة القيم والأخلاقيات والعدالة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية، وكيفية تفاعلها مع النظم البيولوجية والسيكولوجية والمجتمعية. أيضا سيتناول هذا المقرر تأثير التنوع الإثني، والاجتماعي-الثقافي، والديني، والروحي والنوع الاجتماعي على السلوك الإنساني. سيتم مناقشة هذه العوامل من ناحية تأثيرها على التطور الفردي، والمجموعات الاجتماعية، والمجتمعات المحلية والنظم العائلية. وسيجري التعامل أيضاً مع الآثار المعرفية والتطبيقية على المجتمعات الإسلامية. بشكل خاص يستعرض هذا المقرر كيفية تأثير النظم الاجتماعية على تطور أو تراجع الأفراد نحو تحقيق الصحة الجيدة والرفاهية والمحافظة عليهما.

SWK613A سياسة الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية – جزء 1

هذا المقرر هو الأول ضمن المقررين الأساسيين الإلزاميين في سياسة الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية. سيتعلم الطلاب في هذا المقرر تاريخ سياسة الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية، وتاريخ مهنة العمل الاجتماعي. كما سيتعلم الطلاب القضايا الراهنة للرعاية الاجتماعية ضمن السياقات التاريخية لهذه القضايا، والأسس المنطقية والقيم التي تدعم التوجهات المختلفة في فهم نظام الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية. سيكون التركيز على المجالات الأساسية الكبرى في العمل الاجتماعي مثل الرعاية الصحية والصحة النفسية ورعاية الأطفال، والإصلاحيات، والهجرة، والسكان اللاجئين والنازحين، والشيخوخة. سيغطي المقرر الأسس المفاهيمية لسياسة الرعاية الاجتماعية، والعدالة الاجتماعية، والحقوق المدنية، والسياسات الاجتماعية في العالم العربي، وبشكل خاص في دولة قطر. إضافة إلى ذلك سيغطي المقرر محتويات ذات صلة بتمويل البرامج الاجتماعية، الإسلام والرعاية الاجتماعية، شبكات الأمان الاجتماعي، سياسات العمل والتشغيل، السياسات السكانية. أيضا سيتطرق المقرر إلى مقارنة بين سياسات دولية مختلفة في الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية.

SWK613B سياسة الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية – جزء 2

هذا المقرر هو الثاني ضمن المقررين الأساسيين الإلزاميين في سياسة الرعاية والخدمات الاجتماعية. يركز هذا المقرر على فهم القضايا الاقتصادية الاجتماعية الكبرى التي تؤثر في المجتمعات، مع التركيز على القضايا ذات الصلة بالمجتمع القطري بشكل خاص ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بشكل عام. وهذه القضايا تشمل الفقر، البطالة، العمالة الأجنبية، الأمن الوطني والإنساني والطرق المختلفة التي يستجيب بها المجتمع لهذه القضايا عبر الزمن. سيتعلم الطلاب في هذا المقرر ماهية المناصرة في ممارسة التأثير على السياسات الاجتماعية، والمهارات والكفاءات اللازمة لتحليل السياسات، والبيئة والشروط اللازمة للسياسة الاجتماعية. وسيتعلم الطلاب أيضًا كيفية تقديم مقترحات لمشاريع سياسات اجتماعية وكيفية الدفاع عنها، وتطوير استراتيجية سياسية، والقيام بتطبيقها.

SWK614 مقرر تحليل البيانات

هذا المقرر هو الثاني من ثلاثة مقررات إلزامية في مناهج البحث العلمي لطلاب برنامج العمل الاجتماعي. يبني هذا المقرر على المقرر الأول مناهج البحث SWK610 العلمي كمتطلب سابق. يغطي هذا المقرر مجالات عدة ذات صلة بالتحليل الكمي والتحليل الكيفي للبيانات. هذه المجالات تشمل: أ‌- القواعد الأخلاقية للبحث في العمل الاجتماعي ب‌- الحزمة الإحصائية للعلوم الاجتماعية SPSS، وتحضير البيانات لإدخالها على البرنامج الإحصائي. ت‌- الإحصائيات الوصفية: التوزيعات التكرارية، التمثيل البياني للبيانات ومقاييس النزعة المركزية والتشتت. ث‌- التوزيع الطبيعي والتوزيعات المنحرفة. ج‌- تحديد خطوات اختبار الفرضيات: فرضيات البحث، خطأ النوع الأول وخطأ النوع الثاني، الدلالة الإحصائية. ح‌- الإحصائيات الاستدلالية: اختبارات المَعلَمة الإحصائية: الاختبار المعلمي Parametric والاختبار اللامعلمي non-parametric. خ‌- قواعد إرشادية لكيفية اختيار الاختبار الإحصائي. د‌- تقنيات إحصائية ثنائية المتغير: معامل ارتباط بيرسون، اختبارات ستيودنت T، اختبار تحليل التباين الأحادي (ANOVA)واختبار مربع كاي. ذ‌- عرض وتفسير النتائج وتقديم تقرير عنها.

SWK640 التدريب الميداني – جزء 1

صُمّمت مهام التدريب الميداني – الجزء الأول لتحديد وتقييم قدرة الطالب/ـة على استيعاب المهارات والاستراتيجيات المتبعة في حل المشكلات في مختلف أنظمة العمل الاجتماعي التي تعالج قضايا تهم الفئات الضعيفة والمعرّضة للخطر. يتعرّف الطالب/ـة على الممارسة المهنية، وسياسات المؤسسة التي يجري فيها التدريب الميداني، وطرق عملها والخدمات التي توفرها، إضافة إلى التحديات الأخلاقية التي يواجهها المرء في ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي. ويتعلّم الطالب عن طريق مراقبة أداء مشرفي ومشرفات التدريب الميداني، فيُجري تقييمات أولية، ويتعلم تدوين العمليات المهنية وتوثيق عمله/ـا. كما يكتسب الطالب/ ـة مهارات التواصل الشفهية والخطية والإلكترونية. ويتم التأكد من مراعاة القيم الثقافية للمجتمع أثناء تأدية الخدمات.

SWK641 التدريب الميداني – جزء 2

يتعلم طلاب وطالبات التدريب الميداني في هذا المقرر إجراء تقييم لاحتياجات المنتفعين ومواردهم، وتحليل المعلومات المستخلصة منهم، وإشراكهم في عملية حل المشكلات وكتابة التقييم النفسي والاجتماعي. كما يتعلمون طرائق مساعِدة في مستويات أنظمة مختلفة. إضافة إلى أنهم يطورون فهمًا ومهارات أولية في الممارسة الإكلينيكية والتدخلات المجتمعية.

SWK615 مدخل إلى التنمية المجتمعية

هذا المقرر هو الأول من سلسلة من المقررات المتقدمة في التنمية المجتمعية. يزود المقرر الطالب/ة في مسار التنمية المجتمعية بمقدمة نظرية وعملية في مجال تقييم المجتمع المحلي والتنمية المجتمعية. كما يقدم المقرر للطلاب مدخلًا إلى المفاهيم الأساسية في مجال تنمية وتنظيم المجتمع، أهمية النظم الاجتماعية والثقافية والبيئية في نجاح التنمية المجتمعية. يساعد المقرر الطلاب في تنمية مهارات تقييم المجتمع المحلي والتخطيط لعمليات التدخل، والمناصرة، وإدارة المجموعات. كما سيتعلم الطلاب التوجهات التقنية للمساعدة في التنمية الريفية، تنمية المناطق الحضرية، وتنمية الشباب، إضافة إلى قضايا تتعلق بالقضاء على الفقر والتنمية المستدامة.

SWK616 القيادة والسلوك التنظيمي

سيتم عرض وصف المقرر قريبًا.

SWK617 تقييم البرامج

هذا المقرر هو مقرر بحثي متقدم يضيف عمقًا واتساعًا إلى المعرفة البحثية والمهارات التي اكتسبها الطلاب في مقررات مناهج البحث وتحليل البيانات (وهي متطلبات أساسية/ سابقة). صمم هذا المقرر لكي يهيئ الطالب في مسار العمل الاجتماعي ليطور، ويستخدم، ويقيم بشكل نقدي، ويتواصل بشكل فعال مع المعرفة من أجل تطوير وتقييم تجربته في مجال ممارسة تقييم البرامج الإنسانية والاجتماعية. ويؤهل المقرر الطلاب للتعرف على مختلف طرائق التقييم المنهجية التي تقيس الاحتياجات، وتقيس فعالية وعدالة ونجاعة التدخلات المختلفة في الوصول إلى الأهداف والمخرجات المأمولة من قبل المهتمين وأصحاب المصلحة، مع تركيز خاص على عمليتي تقييم الاحتياجات والتنمية المجتمعية. يشدد أيضاً المقرر على أهمية الممارسة المبنية على الأدلة، المُساءلة، والممارسة الأخلاقية، ودور المناصرة المهنية في تحسين ومراقبة الممارسات المهنية، والسياسات، والخدمات الإنسانية المقدمة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يؤكد المقرر على استخدام تقنيات التقييم الملائمة من أجل تعزيز العدالة الاجتماعية للفئات المعرضة للمخاطر.

SWK618 أساليب متقدمة في تنظيم المجتمع

يستند هذا المقرر على مقرر "مدخل إلى تنمية المجتمع" الذي يعتبر متطلباً سابقاً لهذا المقرر. ويدرس هذا المقرر في الفصل الثاني من السنة الثانية المتقدمة. يهيئ المقرر الطلاب لاكتساب فهم متقدم للمجتمع المحلي واحتياجاته، وعملية التقييم، وكيفية تطوير مقترحات لمشاريع وبرامج للحصول على منح، وكيفية بدء تشغيل البرامج. وسيتعلم الطلاب مفاهيم ونظريات متنوعة (مثل نظريات النظم، نظرية الصراع، نظرية الاختيار العقلاني...إلخ،) والتي تساعد على فهم المجتمعات المحلية والقوة والسياسة والموارد الاقتصادية ومختلف السمات الشخصية (الجندر، الإثنية، ...إلخ)، وكيفية تأثير هذه العوامل في تشكيل حياة المجتمع المحلي.

SWK619 تمكين المجتمع من أجل التغيير

هذا المقرر هو الأخير في سلسلة المقررات المتقدمة في التنمية المجتمعية، ويستند على مقرر "مدخل إلى تنمية المجتمع"، ومقرر "أساليب متقدمة في تنظيم المجتمع" ومقرر "تقييم البرامج"، وجميعها مقررات سابقة لهذا المقرر. يشتمل المقرر على عملية فحص لطرائق التنمية المجتمعية المتخصصة في تمكين الناس لكي ينخرطوا معًا على المستوى المحلي في تطوير برامج وخدمات من أجل تحقيق تغيير مجتمعي. ويركز المقرر على الطرق التي يتمكن من خلالها أعضاء المجتمع المحلي من القيام بمبادرات والمساهمة في أعمال جماعية ومساعدة أنفسهم من خلال تنمية اجتماعية واقتصادية قائمة على المجتمع المحلي في مجالات الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية والتعليم والإسكان ومشاريع إنعاش وتنشيط الأحياء. وسيكون هناك تركيز خاص على المبادرات التي ينخرط فيها أفراد وعائلات في جهود إيجابية تعددية للتنمية مبنية على نقاط قوة وموارد أعضاء المجتمع المحلي بدل التركيز على احتياجاتهم ومشاكلهم. كما سيُعطَى اهتمام خاص للعلاقة بين التنمية والتمكين والاستدامة.

SWK642 التدريب الميداني - جزء 3

سيتم إضافة وصف المقرر قريبًا.

SWK643 التدريب الميداني - جزء 3

سيتم إضافة وصف المقرر قريبًا.

​الممارسة الإكلينيكية المتقدمة - جزء 1

سيتم إضافة وصف المقرر قريبًا.

​الممارسة الإكلينيكية المتقدمة - جزء 2

سيتم إضافة وصف المقرر قريبًا.

التدريب العملي - جزء 1

سيتم إضافة وصف المقرر قريبًا.

التدريب العملي - جزء 2

سيتم إضافة وصف المقرر قريبًا.

SWK642 التدريب الميداني

سيتم إضافة وصف المقرر قريبًا.

SWK643 التدريب الميداني

سيتم إضافة وصف المقرر قريبًا.

SWK621 ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي مع السكان النازحين – جزء 1

يركز هذا المقرر على ضحايا الكوارث والناجين منها. وهو يغطي تلك العمليات الواسعة من الاقتلاع، والتهجير، وإعادة التوطين، والتكيف بالنسبة إلى الناجين من الكوارث الطبيعية أو تلك التي من صنع البشر. ويشتمل المقرر على تعريفات وقضايا مفاهيمية ومنهجية، أسباب الكوارث وكيفية التعامل معها، السياسات المتعلقة بها وتحليل السياسات، ومستويات التدخل. وسيختتم المقرر بفحص لقضايا حرجة في العمل الاجتماعي مع الناجين من الكوارث.

SWK622 ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي مع السكان النازحين – جزء 2

يركز هذا المقرر على أسباب الهجرة الدولية سواء على مستوى التهجير القسري أم النزوح الطوعي، وعلى نظريات الهجرة. سوف يتناول المقرر تحليل عملية التزام المجتمع الدولي في توفير المساندة للاجئين وللنازحين داخلياً، السياسات الدولية والمحلية حول اللاجئين والمهاجرين والنازحين الدوليين، التعريف بالبرامج الخاصة بالنازحين الداخليين، دراسة التأثير المزدوج على الصدمة المصاحبة للاقتلاع، والتغيير الثقافي الذي يواجهه اللاجئون والمهاجرون (قضايا حرجة)، وسيتناولون في النقاش الدول المستضيفة، وتقييم نماذج مختارة من جهود عمليات إعادة اللاجئين إلى أوطانهم. كما سيناقش المقرر التحديات التي تواجه العمل في خدمة اللاجئين والمهاجرين والنازحين الدوليين.

SWK623 العمل الاجتماعي والقانون

يفحص هذا المقرر دور القانون وتأثيره على ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي. سوف يفحص الطلاب ويحللون بدقة تأثير قرارات محاكم محددة وأثرها على الممارسة الحالية وعلى المنتفعين. سيقدم هذا المقرر تحليلًا معمقا لكل من القانون الدولي الإنساني (IHL) وقانون حقوق الإنسان (HRL). إضافة إلى ذلك سيركز المقرر على الحقوق الأساسية للإنسان والتي تؤثر على حياته في النواحي السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية، وكذلك أهمية ودلالة التشريعات المحلية والدولية في حماية حقوق الإنسان وتجسيدها على أرض الواقع، مع تركيز خاص على الدعم الإنساني لأولئك الذين يتعرضون لمختلف أنواع النزاعات المحلية والدولية.