Program Structure

The program offers a range of courses including policy formulation and analysis methods, governance issues, budgeting and financial reform methods, qualitative and quantitative methods based on advanced research approaches and comparative case studies. To meet their personal and professional goals, students can study specialized key areas, align with the Qatar National Vision 2030 and the international sustainable development goals, by enrolling in elective courses centered on education policy, health policy, energy policy and sustainable development.


Students are expected for graduation to complete 42 credit hours within the two years as follows: 


1- Core compulsory MPP courses (27 credit hours): 

Course Code

Course Title

Credit Hours 

MPP602

Public Service Internship 

3 Credit Hours 

MPP610

Introduction to Citizenship, Governance, and Public Administration 

3 Credit Hours 

MPP611

 Public Policy Analysis and Formulation 

3 Credit Hours 

MPP612

Introductory Statistics with Applications

3 Credit Hours 

MPP613

Public Budgeting and Finance

3 Credit Hours 

MPP615

Economics for policy Analysis

3 Credit Hours  

MPP617

 Research Methods for Public Policy

3 Credit Hours 

MPP619​

​Advanced Quantitative and Qualitative Analysis

3 Credit Hours ​

​MPP621

 Comparative Public Policy​

3 Credit Hours ​

Total Cr. H  

​27 Credit Hours 


In addition, to a compulsory course (0 credit hours):

​Course Code

​Course Title

​​MPP002

​Writing for Public Policy



2- Specialized Tracks (12 credit hours):

Public policy students can specialize in one of the specialized tracks offered by the program  by completing 12 credit hours. In these tracks, students select 9 credit hours of elective courses according to the specialization track; in addition to a free elective course with 3 credit hours from one Courses offered for the institute’s programs in the following areas:

- Education policy courses: focus on explaining the importance of educational reform in the Arab world and how it is implemented and the challenges facing it. In addition, they develop practical skills in the field of quality in education and the importance of using modern technologies in education and conducting policies suited to conflict countries in the Arab world.

- Health policy courses: aim to enhance the basic understanding of challenges and ideas related to health policies in the Arab world. They will help students to analyze and identify the obstacles facing structuring and financing health organizations, to understand the factors influencing the formation of health policy and to formulate an integrated health policy in the Arab world.

- Energy and sustainable development courses: focus on the current energy policy in the Arab world and the new challenges about the depletion of natural resources imposed by climate change and its effects on the Arab region. They will help students to think about alternative sources of energy and provide skills in the fields of governance of change in energy sources and financing the alternative energy plan.

- General track

 (*) MPP tracks are offered according to the students' preferences and other program considerations. Student selects 3 elective courses as per the concentration and one free elective course.


3- Public Policy Capstone research (3 credit hours):

​Course Code

​Course Title

MPP698

Capstone Research

هيكلية البرنامج

يقدم برنامج السياسات العامة مجموعة من المقررات التي تتضمن أساليب صياغة السياسات وتحليلها، وقضايا الحوكمة، وطرق إعداد الموازنات والإصلاحات المالية، والتحليل المعتمد على المناهج البحثية المتقدمة، وعلى الدراسة المقارنة لاستخلاص الدروس المستفادة. ولمزيد من التخصص، يمكن للطلاب دراسة بعض المجالات التي تندرج ضمن رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، ودراسة وتحليل الأهداف الإنمائية المستدامة، وذلك من خلال التسجيل في مقررات اختيارية تتمحور حول سياسات التعليم، وسياسات الصحة، وسياسات الطاقة والتنمية المستدامة.


ولنيل شهادة الماجستير في السياسات العامة، على الطلاب استكمال ما لا يقل عن 42 ساعة معتمدة خلال مدة دراستهم في المعهد، على النحو التالي:


1- مقررات تأسيسية إلزامية على مستوى البرنامج (27 ساعة معتمدة):

رمز المقرر اسم المقرر عدد الساعات المعتمدة
MPP602
تدريب عملي في الخدمة العامة3 ساعات معتمدة
MPP610
مقدمة في المواطنة، الحوكمة والإدارة العامة3 ساعات معتمدة
MPP611
تحليل السياسات العامة وصياغتها3 ساعات معتمدة
MPP612
مقدمة في الإحصاء مع التطبيقات
3 ساعات معتمدة
MPP613
الموازنة العامة والتمويل
3 ساعات معتمدة
MPP615
 اقتصاديات تحليل السياسات 
3 ساعات معتمدة
​MPP617
منهجيات البحث في السياسات العامة
​3 ساعات معتمدة
​MPP619
التحليل الكمي والنوعي المتقدم
​3 ساعات معتمدة
MPP621
 السياسات العامة المقارنة
3 ساعات معتمدة
إجمالي عدد الساعات   
27 ساعة معتمدة

 

بالإضافة إلى مقرر إلزامي بدون ساعات معتمدة:

رمز المقرر اسم المقرر 
MPP002
الكتابة في السياسات العامة

 

2- المسارات التخصصية (12 ساعة معتمدة):

يتخصص طلاب السياسات العامة في أحد المسارات التخصصية التي يطرحها البرنامج من خلال استكمال 12 ساعة معتمدة، يقوم الطالب في هذه المسارات باختيار 9 ساعات معتمدة من المقررات الاختيارية تبعا لمسار التخصص الذي اختاره، بالإضافة الى مقرر اختياري حر برصيد 3 ساعات معتمدة من أحد المقررات المطروحة لبرامج المعهد في المجالات التالية:

أ- سياسات التعليم:  تركز على شرح السياسات التعليمية، وأهمية الإصلاح التربوي في الوطن العربي، وكيفية تنفيذه، والتحديات التي تواجهه، إضافة إلى تعزيز المهارات العملية في مجال الجودة في التعليم، وأهمية استعمال التقنيات الحديثة في التعليم، وابتكار سياسات تتناسب مع بلدان الصراع في الوطن العربي.

ب- سياسات الصحة:  ترمي إلى تعزيز الفهم الأساسي للقضايا والتحديات والأفكار المتعلقة بالسياسات الصحية في الوطن العربي، والمساعدة في صياغة سياسة صحية متكاملة، والتعرف إلى قضايا هيكلة المنظمات الصحية، وتمويلها؛ وفهم العوامل المؤثرة في تشكيل السياسة الصحية في الدول العربية. 

ج- الطاقة والتنمية المستدامة: تبحث في حيثيات استنزاف الموارد الطبيعية، والبحث عن مصادر بديلة من الطاقة في ظل التحديات التي يفرضها التغير المناخي وتأثيراته في المنطقة العربية؛ وتعزيز المهارات في مجالات حوكمة التغيير في مصادر الطاقة، وتمويل خطة الطاقة البديلة. 

د- مسار عام.

 (*) تُطرح المسارات وفقا لرغبة الطلاب واعتبارات خاصة بالبرنامج، ويختار الطالب  3 مقررات اختيارية تبعا للتخصص الذي اختاره و مقرر اختيار حر.

 

3- البحث التتويجي (3 ساعات معتمدة):

رمز المقرر اسم المقرر 
MPP698
بحث تتويجي