This program aims to train students in a way that enables them to engage in academic research with confidence and competence, in addition to knowing and using philosophical theories, concepts and research methods. The program also poses the fundamental theoretical and practical philosophical issues and questions.
In line with the DI's mission, this program will also be open to other disciplines in order to diversify the students' knowledge and different methodological approaches, enabling them to become independent thinkers. Such qualities will also give students the courage to pose questions, be intellectually creative and solve the cultural and intellectual dilemmas pertaining to the Arab world.
This program has one concentration only and gives the students the freedom to choose courses best suited with their interests and intellectual preferences and which will be of use to them when choosing a dissertation topic. Such choice will give students exposure to the different theoretical and practical aspects of the program.

Program​ Entry Requirements

The Philosophy program welcomes outstanding applicants who possess the skills and motivation required for graduate study.
A bachelor's degree in the field of the social sciences and humanities is desirable. Applications from students with a degree from any other academic background will be considered in light of the applicant's eligibility to study in the program. But preference will be given to students with a philosophy background. ​
Before applying please ensure you have visited and understood the Admissions requirements and procedures at the Institute level.​​

Faculty

Elizabeth Suzanne Kassab
Head of Program and Associate Professor (see profile)​​

Raja Bahlul
Professor​​ (see profile)​

Hossein Dabbagh
Assistant Professor​ (see profile)

Fehmi Jadaane
Visiting Professor

Program Structure

  • Note: Course offerings may vary and are dependent on faculty availability, student demand and registration capacity.

     

    A. Program Requirements - 24 credits: 

    Students are required to study five core courses of 3 credits each and 3 elective courses of 3 credits each in addition to one Non-credit School Graduation Requirement - 0 credits:

    1 - Core Courses:

    PHIL 611 Logic and Method in Philosophy: It introduces students to the basic concepts and methods of critical thinking and formal logic. It explores the philosophical foundations of logic and reasoning, as well as the practical application of logic to arguments encountered in ordinary life. The skills students acquire in this course are vital both to further study in philosophy and to other areas of academic work. They are also a foundation for the kinds of thinking students will have to do in their future life and career.

     

    PHIL 612 Topics in Islamic Philosophy: This course deals with some of the works of major Islamic philosophers such as al-Kindi, al-Farabi, Ibn Sina, and Ibn Rushd. It examines their sources and influences on medieval theology and philosophy, up until the modern era. It focuses on the humanistic trend in Arab-Islamic philosophy, especially in the writings of al-Kindi, al-Razi, Miskawayh and Ibn Hazm.

     

    PHIL 613 Topics in Contemporary Arab Philosophy: This course addresses some of the most prominent philosophical currents and debates that took place in the Arab world since the beginning of the twentieth century until the present day by critically reading key original texts. The main currents include neo-Thomism, Personalism, Positivism, and Existentialism. As to the contemporary debates, they revolve around issues of philosophical independence, tradition, modernity, religion, history, freedom, reason and critique. It examines influences from, and receptions of, Western and Islamic philosophy in contemporary Arab philosophy. Finally, it discusses the main challenges and promises of this philosophy.

     

    PHIL 614 Topics in Modern and Contemporary Philosophy: This course examines topics from the last 350 years of Western philosophy from the Renaissance to the 21st century including humanism, the rise of modern science, empiricism, rationalism, idealism, pragmatism, logical positivism, existentialism, and analytic philosophy. Students will address issues such as the nature of reality, knowledge, meaning, morality, and social justice, with an eye to contemporary philosophical discussions. The course features selected works by major philosophers such as Descartes, Locke, Spinoza, Hume, Kant, Hegel, Marx, Kierkegaard, Nietzsche, James, Sartre, Rawls, Foucault, Wittgenstein and Habermas.

     

    PHIL 615 Topics in Greek Philosophy: This course examines some of the main issues of Greek and Hellenistic philosophy, ranging from the natural philosophies to neo-Platonism. It looks at the influences of these Greek and Hellenistic philosophies in general, and Platonic, Aristotelian and Stoic philosophies, on medieval, Islamic and modern philosophy. It devotes special attention to Plato's anthropology of the state and its modern ramifications.

     

    2 - Program Electives:

    PHIL 621 Topics in Ethics: A study of ethics should help students apply their normative theories make real world ethical decisions and give them the resources and tools to justify their ethical claims to others. This course is understood as an introduction to the practice of engaging in ethical deliberation and thereby focuses on normative ethics. It also touches on two other branches of ethics: meta-ethics and applied ethics. Meta-ethics deals with questions about the nature of morality itself and asks questions such as: is morality dependent on a religious foundation? Is there an objective basis for our moral claims or are all moral claims subjective? Applied ethics makes use of the theories of goodness and rightness and applies them to contemporary moral problem.

     

    PHIL 622 Topics in Political Philosophy: The course aims at introducing students to the most important theories and conceptual developments in the field of philosophical-political thought. This is achieved by critically studying some of the important founding texts of Greek, Medieval, Modern and Contemporary political philosophy. The emphasis is more conceptual than chronological, the aim being to obtain an adequate grasp of important theories and concepts, which enable students to appreciate complexities of political thinking.

    PHIL 623 Topics in Aesthetics: Questions of art, beauty and taste are examined through the study of major philosophical texts from Antiquity to modern and contemporary times. Concepts, approaches and theories are critically discussed in the various fields of art. Aesthetic experiences and value judgments are analysed from different perspectives and schools of thought.

     

    PHIL 625 Topics in Tradition and Modernity: This course is about twentieth century European debates on tradition and modernity. It deals more precisely with three sets of debates that address the issues of Enlightenment, revolution, modernity, tradition and critique: first, the Gadamer-Habermas debate on the possibilities and limitations of self-reflective reason and critique given the historical, cultural and linguistic embeddedness of human beings; second, the Foucault-Habermas debate on truth, power and critique and the tensions between the Kantian legacy of Enlightenment on the one hand and the emancipatory legacy of the Frankfurt critical theory on the other; and third, the Lyotard-Habermas debate on truth, production of knowledge and Enlightenment after the collapse of the grand narratives.

     

    PHIL 627 Topics in Epistemology and Metaphysics: This is an in-depth examination, from a modern point of view, of some of the most important and enduring problems of epistemology and metaphysics. The course also analyses inter-relations between concepts of knowledge and being. Subjects to be discussed include: philosophical schools such as Empiricism, Rationalism, Critical Philosophy, Logical Positivism, Materialism, and Idealism. Additionally, the course critically examines important concepts such as Reason, Perception, Skepticism, Induction, Justification, Explanation, Time and Space, Causality, Determinism, Free Will, Truth and Possibility.

     

    PHIL 629 Special Topics in Philosophy: This course is devoted at every time to a different special topic in philosophy, selected by one of the faculty members, taking into consideration the needs and interests of the students on the one hand and the teaching and research interests of the teacher on the other hand.

     

    PHIL 630 Topics in the Philosophy of Culture: This course is a critical reading of major texts in Western philosophies of culture, including those of Herder, Dilthey, Schweitzer, Spengler, Simmel, Cassirer and Toynbee. Those texts offered theories on the nature of cultures and civilizations, on their universal or specific characters, on the mechanisms of their rise and fall as well as on the methods of studying them and assessing them morally.  In addition, the course examines the reception of these works by Arabs in the twentieth and twenty first centuries, be it in the form of translations or analytical studies, such as those of Abdelrahman Badawi, Constantine Zurayk, Muhammad Chawqi Zein and Fouad Makhoukh. 

     

    3- Specialized English Language Course (non- credit Course): The School may offer a number of non-credit bearing courses which must be taken as a condition for graduation when required by the relevant program. Students must successfully pass the assignment for each course as a condition for graduation. These courses will also appear on the student's transcript but will not contribute to the student's GPA. Please see here for details.

    PHIL 001 Philosophical Text in English: This course offers a linguistic-conceptual analysis of important philosophical terms, concepts, and theoretical constructs to be found in philosophical writings in the English language. Texts will be chosen from different subfields of Philosophy—Epistemology, Metaphysics, Logic, and Aesthetics. An attempt will be made to cover the different historical periods—Greek, Medieval, Islamic, Modern and Contemporary. The goal is to develop and strengthen students' ability to handle English language materials in philosophy.

     

    B. School R equirements - 12 credits:  

     

    1- Cross - Disciplinary Course - 3 credits: 

    SOSH 601 Issues in the Study of the Humanities and Social Sciences: All SOSH students must successfully complete a core compulsory courses offered at the School level as a cross-disciplinary introduction to the study of the social sciences and humanities.  

    Please visit the "Interdisciplinarity at SOSH " page for more details about these courses and their descriptions.

    2 – Two Interdisciplinary Electives - 6 credits:

    Each program allows students to enroll in courses of special interest, and of a cross-disciplinary nature, which are offered jointly with one or more other programs. Courses offered as interdisciplinary courses may vary and are dependent on faculty availability, student demand and registration capacity. 


    All students will choose two courses of 3 credits each from the list of interdisciplinary courses.  Please visit the "Interdisciplinarity at SOSH" page for more details about these courses and their descriptions. 

     

     

    3 - Non-restricted Elective - 3 credits: 

    Students may choose one course of 3 credits from any program in any of the Schools/centers in the DI (including SPADE and CHS).  For this course, students may take LAL 621 Philosophy of Language course.

     

    C. Dissertation - 6 credits:

    This segment of the degree program aims to enable students, through research and the writing and presentation of a dissertation, to demonstrate their achievement of the objectives of their study over the two years of the program, in 12,000-18,000 words. 

    The dissertation examination consists of two parts; a marked assessment of the dissertation by two examiners and an oral defense in front of an examination panel comprised of the same two examiners. 

     

    Career Destinations

    Upon completion of this program, graduates will obtain a "Master of Social Sciences and Humanities: Philosophy". 

The Philosophical and methodological skills and knowledge students acquire will enable them to pursue:

  • Graduate studies at the PhD level.
  • A career in teaching
  • A career in journalism and media
  • Work in civil society organizations. 
  • Work in related international organizations. 
  • Work in cultural and political departments in the government.

     
    How to Apply

    You may apply to join the Philosophy Program through online. Please review the Admissions Dates to ensure the application and all required documents are submitted before the deadline. 

    Please visit the Apply page in order to start your application. 

    For any academic questions, please contact the School of Social Sciences and Humanities.

يهدف برنامج الماجستير في الفلسفة إلى إعداد الطالب لكي يخوض مجالات البحث الأكاديمي بثقة واقتدار عبر تمكينه من معرفة واستخدام المناهج والمفاهيم والنظريات الفلسفية، ويطرح الأسئلة والقضايا الأساسية في الفلسفة النظرية والعملية.

وعملا بتوجيهات الرسالة الأكاديمية والحضارية للمعهد، سيكون هذا البرنامج منفتحاً على برامج التخصصات الأخرى لتنويع الموارد المعرفية والمقاربات المنهجية المختلفة للطلاب بغية تحقيق استقلالهم الفكري. ومن شأن التحلي بهذه الخصال أن تجعل الطلبة الباحثين يتمتعون بالجرأة الفلسفية على السؤال والإبداع الفكري والإقدام على حل المعضلات الثقافية والفكرية التي تشغل بال العالم العربي.

وقد ارتأى البرنامج العمل بمسار واحد سعياً منه لتمكين كل الطلبة من الوقوف على مختلف جوانب برنامج الفلسفة النظرية والعملية، مع ترك الحرية لهم/ن لاختيار المقررات التي تناسب اهتماماتهم/ن وميولهم/ن الفكرية وتخدم الموضوع الذي اختاروه لبحث الرسالة.

متطلبات​القبول الخاصة بالبرنامج

يرحِّب برنامج الفلسفة بطلبات الالتحاق من الطلاب والطالبات المتفوقين ذوي المهارات والدوافع اللازمة لخوض غمار الدراسات العليا. 

ويفضّل أن يكون الطالب أو الطالبة حاصلًا/ حاصلة على بكالوريوس (الإجازة) في أيٍّ من تخصصات العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية. ويمكن أن يُنظر كذلك في الطلبات ذات الخلفيات الدراسية من خارج دائرة العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية في ضوء أهليتها للدراسة في نطاق برنامج ماجستير الفلسفة.  

ننصحكم بالاطلاع على صفحة القبول​ قبل التقديم لمراجعة متطلبات وإجراءات القبول على مستوى المعهد​. ​​

هيئة التدريس​​​


إليزابيث سوزان كساب
أستاذة مشاركة ورئيسة البرنامج (السيرة الذاتية)​

رجا بهلول
​أستاذ (السيرة الذاتية)​

حسين دباغ
أستاذ مساعد (السيرة الذاتية)


فهمي جدعان

أستاذ زائر

هيكلية البرنامج

ملاحظة: ما يقدمه البرامج من المقررات المذكورة في هيكلها يتحدد في ضوء تقديرها لرغبات الطلبة المسجلين في المقرر وعددهم، ويعتمد أيضا على توافر أعضاء هيئة التدريس.


​​أ. متطلبات البرنامج - 24 وحدة:

على الطلاب دراسة خمسة مقررات إلزامية من 3 وحدات دراسية لكل مقرر و 3 مقررات اختيارية من 3 وحدات دراسية لكل مقرر بالإضافة إلى متطلب تخرج (بدون ساعات معتمدة).

1 - مقررات إلزامية:

PHIL 611-المنهج والمنطق في الفلسفة: يُعرّف هذا المقرر الطلاب على المفاهيم والمناهج الأساسية للتفكير النقدي والمنطق الصوري. ويشكّل منطلقًا لدراسة الفلسفة. ويبحث في الأسس الفلسفية للمنطق والاستدلال، إلى جانب استخدام المنطق في الحجج المتداولة في الحياة اليومية. وتُعدّ المهارات المكتسبة في هذا المقرر بالغة الأهمية، سواء لمتابعة دراسة الفلسفة أو لمجالات أكاديمية أخرى. كما أنه يؤسس لأنماط تفكير ضرورية لحياة الطلاب المستقبلية والمهنية.

 

PHIL 612-قضايا في الفلسفة الإسلامية: يتناول هذا المقرر أعمال كبار فلاسفة الإسلام: الكندي والفارابي وابن سينا وابن رشد. يستحضر المصادر التي منحت منها منظوماتهم الفلسفية، والآثار التي خلقتها فلسفاتهم في المنظومات الفلسفية واللاهوتية في العصور الوسطى وفي مطالع الفلسفة الحديثة. يركز بصورة خاصة على النزعة الإنسانية في الفلسفة العربية-الإسلامية، بما هو نموذج بحثي في موضوع أصيل مبتكر يبرز الرؤية العقلية الإنسانية لدى تيار فلسفي يجنح فيه أبرز أعلامه - الكندي والرازي وابن عدي (مسكويه) وابن حزم - عن نهج الطبيعيات والإلهيات المنحدرة من الفلسفة الكلاسيكية (الإغريقية)، ويصوبون النظر إلى قضايا الإنسان الوجودية وفق مقاربات عقلية وإرادية إنسانية خالصة.


PHIL 613- قضايا في الفلسفة العربية المعاصرة: يتناول هذا المقرر بعض أبرز التيارات والنقاشات الفلسفية في العالم العربي منذ بداية القرن العشرين الى اليوم الحاضر من خلال قراءة نقدية لنصوص أصلية. من تلك التيارات، التومائية الجديدة، الشخصانية، الوضعية والوجودية. أما النقاشات فتتمحور حول قضايا الاستقلال الفلسفي، التراث، الحداثة، الدين، التاريخ، الحرية، العقل والنقد. يعالج المقرر مسائل تأثير الفلسفات الغربية والإسلامية على الفلسفة العربية المعاصرة وينظر الى تحديات ووعود هذه الفلسفة.

 

PHIL 614-قضايا في الفلسفة الحديثة والمعاصرة: يتناول هذا المقرر مواضيع من آخر 350 سنة من الفلسفة الغربية من عصر النهضة إلى القرن الحادي والعشرين. وتشمل قائمة المواضيع التي يناقشها المقرر: النزعة الإنسانية، وظهور العلوم الحديثة، والفلسفة التجريبية، والعقلانية، والمثالية، والبراغماتية، والوضعية المنطقية، والوجودية، والفلسفة التحليلية. ويناقش المقرر قضايا مثل طبيعة الواقع، والمعرفة، والمعنى، والأخلاق، والعدالة الاجتماعية، مع النظر الى المناقشات الفلسفية المعاصرة. ويعرض المقرر إلى قائمة أبرز أعمال الفلاسفة مثل ديكارت، لوك، سبينوزا، هيوم، كانط، هيغل، ماركس، كيركيغارد، نيتشه، جيمس، سارتر، راولز، فوكو، فيتغنشتاين وهابرماس.

 

PHIL 615-قضايا في الفلسفة اليونانية: يتناول بعض القضايا الرئيسية في الفلسفة الهيللينية والهللنستية، من الفلسفات الطبيعية الأولى إلى الأفلاطونية المحدثة. ويخص بالنظر والتحليل والفهم والمناقشة والتقييم الفلسفات التي كان لها الأثر الأعظم في تشكيل "الدرس الفلسفي" الإنساني في العصور التالية: الوسيطة والإسلامية والحديثة، وعلى وجه الخصوص الأفلاطونية والأرسطية والرواقية. تحتل المفاهيم ومشكلات المعرفة والوجود والقيم المكانة المركزية في مقاربة هذه النظم الفلسفية. يركز المقرر بصورة خاصة على مقاربات أفلاطون لأنثروبولوجيا الدولة حيث، خلافاً للنظرة المتداولة للفلسفة الأفلاطونية، يتم الكشف عن الوجه المعاصر لأفلاطون، بما هو فيلسوف واقعي يحتل الهاجس الاجتماعي- السياسي قطب الرحى في غائيته الفلسفية وفي تجربته المشخصة، وحيث يؤسس أفلاطون (الجمهورية) على منظور أنتروبولوجي للدولة معزز برؤية أنطولوجية. 



2 - المقررات الاختيارية:

PHIL 621-قضايا في فلسفة الاخلاق:  ينبغي أن تساعد دراسة فلسفة الأخلاق الطلاب على تطبيق نظرياتهم المعيارية على اتخاذ قرارات أخلاقية في العالم الحقيقي، وتمدّهم بالموارد والأدوات لتبرير مطالبهم الأخلاقية للآخرين. ويعتبر هذا المقرر مقدمة للتعرف على المداولات الأخلاقية وعليه فهو يركّز على الأخلاق المعيارية. ويسلط الضوء على فرعين من فلسفة الأخلاق: فلسفة الأخلاق النظرية (الميتا-أخلاقية) وفلسفة الأخلاق التطبيقية. وتتناول فلسفة الأخلاق النظرية؛ طبيعة الأخلاق نفسها وتناقش أسئلة من قبيل: هل ترتكز الأخلاق على أي أساس ديني؟ هل هناك أساس موضوعي لمطالبنا الأخلاقية أم أن جميع المطالب الأخلاقية ذاتية؟ ومن جهة أخرى تستخدم فلسفة الأخلاق التطبيقية نظريات الخير والحق في دراسة المشكلات الأخلاقية المعاصرة.

 

​​​PHIL 622-قضايا في الفلسفة السياسية: يهدف هذا المقرر الى تعريف الدارسين بنشأة وتطور الأفكار والنظريات الأساسية في مجال الفكر السياسي. يتم تحقيق هذا الهدف من خلال التوقف عند محطات رئيسية في تاريخ الفكر السياسي ومناقشة متعمقة للنصوص المؤسسة في الحقب اليونانية، والوسيطة والحديثة والمعاصرة. لا يتوخى المقرر التغطية التاريخية الشاملة بقدر ما يتوخى الإلمام بالمفاهيم والنظريات المؤسسة، ثم التدرب على مناقشتها بصورة نقدية، واكتساب القدرة على التعامل مع الافتراضات المسبقة في الفكر السياسي، وإدراك الصعوبات التي تقف عائقا أمام الوصول إلى أجوبة نهائية.

PHIL 623-قضايا في علم الجمال: يركّز هذا المقرر على أسئلة الفن والجمال والذوق من خلال دراسة النصوص الفلسفية الكبرى من العصور القديمة إلى العصر الحديث والمعاصر، ويتناول المقرر المفاهيم والمناهج والنظريات بشكل نقدي في مختلف مجالات الفن، وبالتحليل تجارب جمالية وأحكام قيمية من وجهات نظر ومدارس فكرية مختلفة.

 

 

PHIL 625-قضايا في فلسفة التراث والحداثة: يتناول هذا المقرر المناظرات والسجالات الفكرية حول التراث والحداثة في السياق الأوربي خلال القرن العشرين. ويركّز بصورة خاصة على قضايا التنوير والثورة والحداثة والتراث والنقد؛ يتناول أولا مناظرة هابرماس وغادامر حول إمكانيات وقيود العقل والنقد الذاتي نظرا للانتماء التاريخي واللغوي للبشر؛ وثانيا مناظرة فوكو وهابرماس حول الحقيقة والسلطة والنقد والتوترات بين تراث كانط حول التنوير من جهة والإرث التحرري لنظرية فرانكفورت النقدية من جهة أخرى؛ وثالثا مناظرة هابرماس وليوتارد حول الحقيقة وإنتاج المعرفة والتنوير بعد انهيار السرديات الكبرى.

 

PHIL 627-قضايا في نظرية المعرفة والوجود: يتناول المقرر بالدراسة المتعمقة، ومن وجهة نظر حديثة ومعاصرة، بعض أكثر المسائل الابستمولوجية والميتافيزيقية الحاحا وأهمية وديمومة.  كما يركز المقرر على تحديد ودراسة علاقات الترابط والاستقلال بين المعرفة والوجود. تشتمل الموضوعات التي سوف يعكف المقرر على دراستها على المدارس ذائعة الصيت مثل التجريبية والعقلانية والنقدية والوضعية المنطقية والبرغماتية في مجال نظرية المعرفة، إضافية الى المدارس التقليدية في مجال المتيافيزيقا، مثل المادية والمثالية. كما يتعرض المقرر إلى أبرز المفاهيم في مجال المعرفة والوجود مثل الإدراك الحسي والعقلي، الريبية، الاستقراء والاستدلال، التسويغ والتفسير، الزمان والمكان، المادة والروح، السببية والحتمية وحرية الإرادة، الهوية، والإمكان والحقيقة.

 

PHIL 629 - موضوعات خاصة في الفلسفة: يتناول هذا المقرر في كل مرة موضوعا خاصا في الفلسفة يختاره أحد أعضاء هيئة التدريس مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار احتياجات ورغبات الطلاب من ناحية والتوجهات البحثية والتعليمية لمدرس المقرر من جهة أخرى.

 

PHIL 630-موضوعات في فلسفة الثقافة: يتناول هذا المقرر قراءة نقدية للنصوص الرئيسية في الفلسفة الغربية للثقافة ، بما في ذلك تلك الخاصة بهردر و دلتاي و سشويتزر و شبنجلر و زيمل و كاسيرر و توينبي. حيث قدمت هذه النصوص نظريات حول طبيعة الثقافات والحضارات وحول آليات نهوضها وهبوطها، وتناولت طرق دراستها وتقييمها أخلاقيا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يدرس المقرر كيف استقبل العرب في القرنين العشرين والحادي والعشرين هذه الأعمال سواء كان ذلك في شكل الترجمة أو الدراسات التحليلية، مثل كتب عبد الرحمن بدوي، وقسطنطين زريق، ومحمد شوقي زين وفؤاد مخوخ.

 

3- مقرر اللغة الإنجليزية التخصصي (بدون ساعات معتمدة): يسمح للكلية بتقديم عدد من المقررات باللغة الإنجليزية دون وحدات معتمدة كمتطلب للتخرج. ويجب على الطلاب اجتياز هذه المقررات بنجاح حيث ستظهر في كشف الدرجات، ولكنها لن تؤثر على المعدل التراكمي للطالب. يرجى الاطلاع هنا لمزيد من التفاصيل.


PHIL 001 نصوص فلسفية باللغة الإنجليزية: يقدم هذا المقرر تحليلاً لغوياً مفاهيمياً للمصطلحات الفلسفية الهامة والبنيات النظرية الموجودة في الكتابات الفلسفية في اللغة الإنجليزية. سيتم اختيار النصوص من حقول فرعية مختلفة من الفلسفة -كالمعرفة، والميتافيزيقيا، والمنطق، وعلم الجمال. مع محاولة لتغطية الحقب التاريخية المختلفة مثل الحقبة اليونانية والوسطى والإسلامية والحديثة والمعاصرة. ويهدف المقرر إلى تطوير وتقوية قدرة الطلاب على التعامل مع مواد اللغة الإنجليزية في الفلسفة.


ب. متطلبات الكلية - 15 وحدة:​

1 - مقرر تأسيسي إلزامي على مستوى الكلية (3 ساعات معتمدة):


SOSH 601 قضايا في العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية: على جميع طلاب كلية العلوم الاجتماعية الإنسانية استكمال المقرر الإلزامي المقدم على مستوى الكلية بنجاح .ويقدم المقرر مدخلاً عابراً للتخصصات يتناول القضايا الرئيسيّة في العلوم الاجتماعيّة والإنسانيّة. يرجى زيارة صفحة "عبور التخصصات في الكلية" للمزيد من المعلومات حول هذه المقررات.

 

 

2 - مقررات عابرة للتخصصات – 6 وحدات:

 

يسجل جميع الطلبة في مقررات مختلفة ذات أهمية خاصة وتكون بطبيعتها متعدّدة الجوانب وعابرة للتخصصات. ويشترك برنامجين على الأقل في تقديم تلك المقررات. عدد ما تعرضه الكلية من المقررات أدناه يتحدد في ضوء تقديرها لرغبات الطلبة المسجلين في المقرر وعددهم، ويعتمد أيضاً على توافر أعضاء هيئة التدريس.

يختار الطالب مقررين (كلاهما من 3 وحدات دراسية) من قائمة المقررات العابرة للتخصصات. ​يرجى زيارة صفحة "عبور التخصصات في الكلية" لمزيد من المعلومات عن المقررات وللاطلاع على وصفها.

 

 

3 - اختيار حر – 3 وحدات:


يستطيع الطلاب أن يختاروا مقرر واحد (من3 وحدات معتمدة) من أي برنامج آخر في كليات /أو مراكز المعهد (بما فيها كلية الإدارة العامة واقتصاديات التنمية، ومركز دراسات النزاع والعمل الإنساني). ​يستطيع الطلاب أيضاً اختيار مقرراً من قائمة مقرر LAL 621 فلسفة اللغة.



ج. رسالة الماجستير - 6 وحدات: ​

يقوم الطالب باختيار موضوع الرسالة وبرنامج البحث بالتشاور مع مشرفه الأكاديمي. وتكون الرسالة من 12،000-18،000 كلمة وتقدم في نهاية العام الدراسي الثاني، على أن يبدأ التداول حول موضوعها ابتداءً من العام الدراسي الأول. وينظم الأستاذ المشرف على هذا الجزء من المقرر جلسات تنويرية للطلاب حول مناهج البحث واختيار الموضوع. وعلى الطلاب كتابة ملخص لفكرة الموضوع والافتراضات الأساسية المراد اختبارها ومنهجية البحث المختارة، مع ملخص حول الإضافة التي ينتظر أن يقدمها البحث على أساس نظرة نقدية لأهم الأعمال التي تناولت موضوع البحث. يقوم منسق المقرر بعد ذلك باختيار مشرف على البحث يتابع مع الطالب بحثه حتى إتمامه.

يتم تقييم نص الرسالة أولاً من قبل لجنة تقييم مكونة من شخصين، ثم عبر مناقشة شفهية مع الطالب/ الطالبة أمام نفس اللجنة.


​التوجهات المهنية

بعد أن يحصل خريجو هذا البرنامج على شهادة ماجستير في "العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية: تخصص الفلسفة"، وستؤهلهم المهارات والمعرفة التي يكتسبها طلاب البرنامج للعمل في أدوار مهنية مختلفة ومنها:

  • مواصلة البحث العلمي لتحضير درجة الدكتوراه.

  • العمل في مجالات التدريس.

  • العمل في مجالات الصحافة والإعلام.

  • العمل في منظمات المجتمع المدني.

  • العمل في المنظمات الدولية ذات الصلة.

  • العمل في المجال الحكومي في الدوائر الثقافية والسياسية


​التقديم​

بإمكان جميع الطلبة التقديم​ على برنامج الفلسفة إما عن طريق الموقع مباشرةً (online). وننصحكم بزيارة صفحة تواريخ القبول لمعرفة أخر موعد لتقديم الطلب وجميع المستندات المطلوبة. 

أما لتعبئة طلب التقديم، يرجى زيارة صفحة تقديم الطلب.​ كما يرجى التواصل مع كلية العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية مباشرة في حال وجود أي استفسارات أكاديمية تتعلق ببرامج الماجستير المقدمة ضمن الكلية. 

​​​​​