The School employs a standardized structure for each Master's program, based on a 36 credit hour graduation requirement distributed among three main categories. 

​​​SSHProgramofStudyDiagram2.jpg

​​​

​Program Structure

1. Program Requirements – 15 credits:  

Each program will require students to complete courses specific to the program of study and they are normally divided into the following categories: 

​A - Core Courses: Each program offers a number of compulsory, foundation courses to provide the student with a thorough grounding in the major subject of study. At least one of the courses addresses the theoretical and practical aspects of research methodologies in the chosen field of study.  Its aim is to build the student’s research skills and ability to design research projects including the design and submission of the thesis proposal. 

B - Concentration Tracks or Program Electives: Programs may offer two concentration tracks of specialization within its major subject of study. Concentration tracks will give students the opportunity to link their chosen concentration with the topic of their future thesis. Students must elect one track and study its corresponding compulsory or elective course (as applicable). Alternatively, the program may offer a list of program electives of which students will choose a specific number depending on credit limits. ​

Note: Please visit the program pages for specific program structures.  


2. School Requirements – 15 credits:​

In order to further their inter/cross-disciplinary exposure, all SOSH students are expected to register for courses of the following nature: ​

A - Extra-Disciplinary Courses – 6 credits: All students are required to study two courses from another program in SOSH​ or CHS​. Depending on the extra-disciplinary program chosen, students must study one of the research methods or theory courses, in addition to one other course from the list offered by that program. 

This category of courses provides​ students with a theor​etical grounding in a program other than their own and deepens their understanding of issues in another discipline. Such courses also allow them to interact further with their colleagues and professors from other programs. Students are strongly advised to consult with their academic advisors before choosing their extra-disciplinary cou​rses.    

B - Interdisciplinary Courses – 6 credits: All students in SOSH must choose two interdisciplinary courses. These courses are normally offered by two or more programs in SOSH and faculty from different programs collaborate in delivering the lectures and seminars. Please visit the “Interdisicplinarity at SOSH​” page for more details regarding the interdisciplinary courses offered. 

C - Non-restricted Elective – 3 credits: Students may choose one course of 3 credits from any program in any of the Schools/centers in the DI (including SPADE and CHS). Students, however, are also able to choose their non-restricted​ elective from the list of electives offered by their home program. Students are strongly advised to consult with their academic advisors before choosing their elective. 

D- Non-credit School Graduation Requirement - 0 credits: All SOSH students must attend and successfully complete the two non-credit bearing courses listed below. These courses are offered at the School level as a cross-disciplinary introduction to the study of social sciences and humanities and are delivered as a series of lectures on selected topics by School and visiting professors. 

  • Issues in the Study of Humanitie
  • Issues in the Study of Social Sciences​

Students must successfully pass the assignment for each course as a condition for graduation. These courses will also appear on the student’s transcript but will not contribute to the student’s GPA. Please visit the “Interdisicplinarity at SOSH​” page for more details.

​​
​​3.  Thesis - 6 credits: 

This segment of the degree program aims to enable students, through research and the writing and presentation of a thesis, to demonstrate their achievement of the objectives of their study over the two years of the program, in 12,000-18,000 words. 

The thesis examination consists of two parts; a marked assessment of the thesis by two examiners and an oral defense in front of an examination panel comprised of the same two examiners. ​​


Graduation Requirements:

In order to successfully complete the program and graduate with a Masters in your chosen program, you must: 

1) Successfully complete all compulsory and elective credits at the School and Program levels

2) Successfully complete the two non-credit school core compulsory courses​

3) Submit and present a research thesis approved by a School-appointed examining committee 

4) Fully reside and attend classes in the DI’s host city (Doha, Qatar) for no less than three semesters

5) ​Achieve English language proficiency level as set by DI 



​​The DI reserves the right to change the structure and content of its programs of study without prior notice.

​تعتمد الكلية نظامًا موحّدًا لكلّ برامج الماجستير، يقضي كشرط للتخرّج بإنجاز 36 وحدة توزع على ثلاث فئات أساسية.     

SSH_ProgramStructureDiagramAr2.JPG 

​​​

هيكلية البرامج 


1. ​متطلبات البرنامج - 15 وحدة: 

على جميع الطلاب إكمال المقررات الخاصة بالبرنامج، وتنقسم متطلبات البرنامج عادة إلى الفئات التالية:  

أ‌ - المقررات الإلزامية: يقدم البرنامج عدداً من المقررات التأسيسية الإلزامية التي تعمق معرفة الطلاب في موضوع التخصص. وتتضمن تلك المقررات مقررا واحدا على الأقل يكون خاص بمنهجيات البحث النظريّة والتطبيقيّة وأدواته في موضوع التخصّص، وذلك بهدف تأهيل الطالب/ة للبحث في موضوع تخصصه/ها، ومساعدته/ها على تصميم المشاريع البحثيّة وتقديمها، والتحضير لإعداد مشروعه/ها​ البحثي لرسالة الماجستير. 


ب‌ - المسارات التخصصية أو مقررات اختيارية للبرنامج: يمكن للبرنامج أن يقدم مسارين تخصصيين ضمن إطاره العام، وعلى الطلاب اختيار أحد المسارين ودراسة المقررات الإلزامية أو الاختيارية التابعة لهما. تكفل المسارات للطلاب فرصة اختيار مشروعاتهم البحثية في مجال التخصص الذي يختارونه.  أما في البرامج التي ليس فيها مسارات تخصصية، فيقدم البرنامج قائمة من المقررات الاختيارية يختار الطلاب منها عدد الوحدات المسموح به ضمن تلك الفئة.  


ملاحظة: يرجى الاطلاع على الصفحة الخاصة بالبرامج لمعرفة هيكليتها وتوزيع المقررات والوحدات الدراسية على الفئات المختلفة.  


​2. ​متطلبات الكلية - 15 وحدة: 

يجب على جميع طلاب الكلية التسجيل في الفئات التالية من المقررات التي تهدف إلى تدريبهم على انتهاج مقاربات عابرة للتخصصات:

​أ - مقررات من خارج التخصص – 6 وحدات: يختار جميع الطلاب مقررين من برنامج آخر (أي غير البرنامج المسجلين فيه)، من برامج الكلية أو من مركز دراسات النزاع والعمل الإنساني، بحيث يكون أحد المقررين خاصا بمناهج البحث أو النظريات والآخر يكون من قائمة المقررات المتاحة من ذلك البرنامج. 

تتيح هذه الفئة من المقررات للطلاب الفرصة للتدرّب على منهجية البحث في تخصص مخالف لتخصصهم الرئيسي، إضافة إلى التعمق في فهمهم لقضايا ذلك التخصص. كما تسمح هذه الفئة من المقررات للطلاب أن يزيدوا من اختلاطهم بأساتذتهم وزملائهم من التخصصات الأخرى. على الطلاب استشارة مرشديهم الأكاديميين قبل اختيار مقررات التخصص الآخر.


‌ب - مقررات عابرة للتخصصات - 6 وحدات: يختار جميع الطلاب مقررين من قائمة المقررات العابرة للتخصصات التي يشترك في تقديمها عادةً برنامجان أو أكثر. ويشترك في تدريس هذه المقررات وإدارة الحلقات النقاشية أساتذة من برامج مختلفة. يرجى زيارة صفحة "عبور التخصصات في الكلية" للمزيد من المعلومات عن المقررات.  



​‌ج - اختيار حر - 3 وحدات: يستطيع الطلاب اختيار مقرر واحد (من3 وحدات دراسية) من أي برنامج آخر في احدى كليات /أو مراكز المعهد (بما فيها كلية الإدارة العامة واقتصاديات التنمية، ومركز دراسات النزاع والعمل الإنساني). ويستطيع الطلاب عوضا عن ذلك اختيار مقرر من قائمة المقررات الاختيارية التي يقدمها برنامجهم ضمن هذه الفئة. على الطلاب استشارة مرشديهم الأكاديميين قبل اختيار مقرراتهم لهذه الفئة.


‌د - متطلبات الكلية للتخرج (مقررات إضافية علاوة على الوحدات المعتمدة): على جميع طلاب كلية العلوم الاجتماعية الإنسانية استكمال المقررين أدناه بنجاح، وحضور جميع المحاضرات الخاصة بهما، مع العلم أن ليس لهذين المقررين أية ساعات معتمدة. يقدم المقرران على مستوى الكليّة كمقدمة عابرة للتخصصات الرئيسيّة في العلوم الاجتماعيّة والإنسانيّة. يقدم المقرران من خلال سلسلة محاضرات حول مواضيع مختارة يلقيها أساتذة الكليّة وأساتذة زائرين. 

1. قضايا في دراسة العلوم الإنسانية

2. قضايا في دراسة العلوم الاجتماعية ​


يجب على الطلاب الحصول على علامة النجاح في التكليفات المحددة لكل من المقررين كشرط للتخرج. يظهر المقرران في كشف علامات الطلاب ولكن لن تحسب نتيجة التكليفات في المعدل التراكمي.​ يرجى زيارة صفحة "عبور التخصصات في الكلية​" للمزيد من المعلومات عن المقررات.  



3. ​الأطروحة - 6 وحدا​ت: 


يهدف هذا المكون إلى تمكين الطلاب من التدليل على استيعابهم للمعارف والمهارات التي اكتسبوها خلال  سنتي الدراسة ببرنامج الماجستير، وذلك عبر القيام بالبحث في مواضيع أطروحاتهم وكتابتها وتقديمها للتقييم والمناقشة، على أن تتراوح الأطروحة بين 12000 إلى 18000 كلمة.

 يتم تقييم نص الأطروحة أولا من قبل لجنة تقييم مكونة من شخصين، ثم عبر مناقشة شفهية مع الطالب/ الطالبة أمام نفس اللجنة.

​​

متطلبات الحصول على شهادة الماجستير:

  1. إتمام جميع المقررات الإلزاميّة والاختياريّة المطلوبة على مستوى الكلية والبرنامج بنجاح.
  2. إتمام مقرري الكلية الإلزاميين التأسيسيين، مع العلم أن ليس لهذين المقررين ساعات معتمدة
  3. إعداد بحث رسالة الماجستير وإجازته من قبل لجنة الفحص المعينة من قبل الكليّة.
  4. الانتظام في الدراسة بمقر المعهد بالدوحة بعبء دراسي كامل لفترة لا تقلّ عن ثلاثة فصول دراسيّة.
  5. استيفاء متطلبات الكفاءة في اللغة الإنجليزية كما يحددها المعهد. 

​​تنويه: يحتفظ معهد الدوحة بحق تعديل برامجه الدراسية ومحتوياتها في أي وقت بدون سابق إخطار.