As the new Acting President and Provost of the Doha Institute for Graduate Studies (DI), it is my pleasure to welcome the readers of this page, especially aspiring students and colleagues who want to join us. Admissions for the new cohort of students are now open, and we encourage students from around the Arab region and beyond to take this opportunity to join one of the most prestigious graduate institutions in the region.

Last September, DI celebrated its fifth anniversary, and the admission of the sixth cohort of its students. This coincided with the inauguration of two new programs in its two schools, and the appointment of a new acting president and three new deans, two for each school and one for Student Affairs. Three of our programs have also received international accreditation. Last May, DI celebrated the graduation of the fourth cohort of students.

This record of achievements enabled DI to gain international recognition and regional distinction as a leading Arab institution of higher learning. It is also the embodiment its vision, "Promoting global excellence in the Arab world and showcasing Arab excellence internationally." DI cooperates closely with academic institutions in Qatar and the Arab world to meet the highest standards in teaching, learning and research, enabling Arab scholars to make their mark globally as original contributors to the production of knowledge to the benefit of the region and whole world. The Institute enjoys international esteem and has partnerships with leading universities in both North and South America, Europe, Asia and Africa, and of course in most Arab countries. Many of its graduates have enrolled in doctoral programs at leading universities around the world, and many work with distinction in various fields in Qatar and elsewhere: universities, general education, diplomacy, media, public administration, business, health, social work, humanitarian agencies, the military, police, etc. Last month, I received a communication from one of our few Western graduates, who now works as a diplomat at the UN in New York for his country, which is an EU member.

One of the greatest achievements this year was the record number of students applying for admission (over ten thousand, rising from just around 1300 five years ago). Consequently, the number of students admitted reached 269 this year, another record, more than a third of them from Qatar. Also, our programs grew from ten in 2015 to eighteen this year. Currently, DI is preparing to launch a PhD program, already approved by the Ministry of Education and Higher Education in Qatar. This is going to be another major achievement.

This success was due chiefly to DI's distinctive vision, striving as it does to provide a unique arena for teaching and advancing the social and sciences and humanities, as well as public administration, public policy and development economics. This effort was enhanced by attracting highly qualified professors from all over the world, on an open competitive basis. Equally, the Institute has extremely competent attracted administrative cadres who show enormous dedication to their work. All our staff are committed to the DI vision of excellence and service.  On this account, students from Qatar and all over the Arab world are provided with an ideal environment conducive to acquiring knowledge in accordance with the best international standards, with help from experienced professors with high ambitions and proven accomplishments.

The establishment of the Doha Institute for Graduate Studies in 2015 came in response to an urgent academic need for the advancement of the social sciences and humanities in the Arab world. Although the promotion of modern sciences in general, and higher education in particular, has remained an Arab priority since the beginning of the Arab Renaissance over two centuries earlier, the social sciences and humanities have not received the attention and support they need and deserve. This has been mainly to the focus of modern state builders on applied sciences, as well as the students' preference for these sciences and professional specializations that provide better job prospects. On the other hand, the narrow margin of academic freedoms and open dialogue available in most Arab countries did not provide a conducive environment for the flourishing of social sciences and humanities.

DI has emerged out of the Arab Center for Research and Policy Studies, a pioneering research centre established in 2010, providing a dynamic arena for addressing the challenges affecting the aspirations towards an Arab renaissance. It continues to conduct cutting-edge research and in-depth deliberations on contemporary Arab concerns. The establishment of the Centre had coincided with another manifestation of the yearning for the long-awaited Arab renaissance, exemplified by the peoples' revolutions that surprised the world. These uprising were very revealing about the dearth of academic knowledge in academia of Arab realities and genuine aspirations. These movements defied not just brutal repression, but also the veil of ignorance displayed by supposed experts. The uprisings also demonstrated the determination of enlightened Arab youth to effect positive change.

Based on its experience and the assessment of the trends in the region, the management of the Center decided, following broad consultations with a broad range of Arab scholars and thinkers from different locations, diverse disciplinary backgrounds and long involvement in higher education internationally and regionally, to establish this pioneering institute to advance teaching and research in this vital domain. The mission of the Institute is to build on the achievements of contemporary human knowledge, while adopting a critical stance towards some of its inadequacies, rather being just passive recipients of its fruits. Rather, the goal is to achieve parity in the field of knowledge production, especially when it is related to our region, our culture and our language. Therefore, the strategic partnership between the DI and the Arab Center (along with the Doha Historical Dictionary for the Arabic Language) is important to achieving these goals. This is done by pooling resources on research, and promoting Arabic as the language of instruction and research, without neglecting international languages. Proficiency in English is a key requirement for admission to DI. This policy stems from the conviction that indigenizing the sciences in the Arab region and developing the Arabic language as a tool for teaching and learning are key to a real Arab renaissance. The partnership between the two institutions aims to stimulate research, foster scientific cooperation and communication regionally and globally, and produce pioneering studies in various fields of social sciences and humanities.

The Center's publications have attained a wide audience and are now being made available in English partnership with leading publishers. The Center has also established branches in France and the USA, which publish original research in the languages of those countries.  Many among DI's professors also publish original research in English and other languages. This, together with international partnerships and with researchers from around the world, enhances the international standing of DI and the Centre as key actors in international knowledge production and in global academic dialogue.

The Institute's contributions are not limited to the theoretical level, but it dedicates effort to practical engagement, especially in disciplines such as clinical psychology, social work, conflict studies, humanitarian work and journalism. Here, practical training is an integral part of the study programs. It is the same with specializations like public administration, public policy and development economics, where the courses include practical training. DI has also launched a number of executive programs in the fields of public administration and diplomacy, as well as the EMBA/EMPA Dual Degree Master in business and public administration, in partnership with the European School of Management and Technology (ESMT) in Berlin. Practical training contributes to strengthening DI's ties with the wider Qatari community and enables its engagement in community service, another central goal of the Institute.

While taking its first steps, DI faced major challenges. Besides the main challenge posed by its ambitious goals, DI was launched and became fully functional while its current buildings were still under construction. Now, the whole building is considered an architectural masterpiece, providing classroom space, as well as housing for professors and students. Later, we confronted with the whole Qatar the hostile 2017 blockade. Currently, we are facing with Qatar and the world the Coronavirus pandemic (Covid-19, and the related crises that have changed the face of the world, especially educational institutions that face unprecedented challenges. Fortunately, the Institute adapted quickly, as it continued its teaching operations after a break of only one day, that was devoted to training in new technologies. However, the pandemic is still a challenge for the educational process, as the Institute is taking all the necessary measures to safeguard the health of safety of all its staff, students, and visitors. It is also doing its best to protect its administrative and financial viability. We hope that the Institute, and with it the State of Qatar, will achieve another success in dealing with COVID-19 and its effects, adding to many previous successes.

I take the occasion to thank the State of Qatar and people for their vital support that this project continues to receive. It is well known that the establishment of a scientific institution of such size and ambition is not achieved by the mere provision of buildings and financial support. A conducive atmosphere must also be created that permits science to flourish. This is what Qatar has offered by adopting a proactive policy of cultivating learning and scientific progress. The success of the Institute is another remarkable Qatari achievement of Qatar, which enhances its position as a leading space for development and education.

It is really a great honour to be asked to lead such an illustrious and ambitious educational project, and it is also a huge responsibility. I would like to thank all those who had contributed to conceiving this important project, and labored to make it a reality. I cannot here name all those who have made vital contributions to this project, but I would like to thank my predecessor in the presidency, Dr Yasir Suleiman Malley, who had made significant contributions to DI's success. Thanks also to the first generation of founders, especially the former Deans, Dr Rashid Enany, Dr Hassan Ali and Dr Faisal Al Mansouri, Dr Suleiman Abu Badr, Dr Abderrahim Benhada, Dr Elia Zureik, and Dr Hamid Dabashi. Thanks to all of them, and to many I did not mention.

Last but not least, I thank the members of the Board of Trustees, former and current, and the Chair of the Board, Dr Azmi Bishara, for producing the vision that made this Institute a reality, and for continuing to vigilantly hold it up to the highest standards. I also thank them for entrusting me with this pivotal role and the responsibilities it entails. I pray I will fulfil my duties in the best of ways, to the benefit of the Institute, its community, Qatar and the rest of the Arab world.


Dr Abdelwahab El Affendi

Acting President and Vice President of Academic Affairs

يسرني ونحن نحتفل بمرور خمسة أعوام على إنشاء معهد الدوحة للدراسات العليا، وتخريج الفوج الرابع من طلابه، أن أعبر عن سعادتي على ما تحقق من نجاح وإنجازات، تمثلت في تأسيس المعهد، وتثبيت أركانه، وبناء مؤسساته، وإرساء أسس العمل فيه بما مكنه أن يحقق الاعتراف الدولي والمكانة المتميزة عربيًا. فخلال هذه السنوات القليلة، شهدنا تحقق مقتضى رؤية المعهد التي وضعت هدفًا استراتيجيًا ملخصه "تحقيق التميز العالمي عربيًا، والتميز العربي عالميًا" فالمعهد يتعاون مع المؤسسات العلمية في قطر والوطن العربي لرفع مستوى التعليم العالي عربياً بحيث ينافس أعلى المستويات عالميًا، ويجتهد لعكس صورة إيجابية عن الإمكانيات والمساهمات العربية عالميًا. وقد أصبح اليوم يتمتع أيضاً بالاحترام الدولي، وله شراكات مع جامعات مرموقة في الأمريكيتين وأوروبا وآسيا وإفريقيا، وبالطبع في مختلف الدول العربية. وقد التحق العديد من خريجيه ببرامج دكتوراه في جامعات معروفة، والكثيرون منهم يعملون بتميز في مجالات مختلفة -في القطاعين العام والخاص في قطر والعالم العربي والغربي- جامعية، ودبلوماسية، وإعلامية وإدارية، وتربوية، وصحية-اجتماعية، واقتصادية، وإنسانية، ونظامية، إلخ. وقد حققت برامج المعهد الاعتماد من مؤسسات اعتماد دولية، مما مثّل إنجازًا آخر لهذه المؤسسة خلال هذه الفترة الوجيزة.

وكان من مظاهر النجاح الإقبال الكبير من الطلاب على التقدم للمعهد، حيث تضاعف عدد المتقدمين مما يزيد قليلًا على الألف، إلى زهاء تسعة آلاف في العام الحالي. كذلك تضاعف عدد الطلاب المقبولين حيث بلغ 269 هذا العام، أكثر من ثلثهم من قطر. زاد عدد البرامج من عشرة برامج عام 2015 إلى ثمانية عشر حاليًا. ويستعد المعهد الآن لإطلاق برنامج للدكتوراه، الذي اكتملت التجهيزات له وحصل على موافقة وزارة التعليم والتعليم العالي في قطر.

وقد كانت أحد أهم عوامل النجاح رؤية المعهد، واجتهاده في تقديم مساحة متفردة في العالم العربي لتدريس وتطوير العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانيات، وعلوم الإدارة العامة واقتصاديات التنمية. وقد تعزز هذا باستقطاب أساتذة من كافة أنحاء العالم، على أساس تنافسي مفتوح، تميزوا بالكفاءة العالية والحماس لهذه الرؤية. وبنفس القدر، استقطب المعهد كوادر إدارية تمتعت بالكفاءة والتفاني في العمل. هذا إضافة إلى فتح المعهد أبوابه، بصيغة تنافسية أيضًا، للطلاب من قطر وكافة أنحاء العالم العربي، وتوفير بيئة نموذجية لتلبية التطلع إلى كسب وتحصيل المعرفة وفق أفضل المعايير الدولية، مستفيدين من علم وخبرة أساتذة لهم طموحات مماثلة وإنجازات مشهود لها.

جاء تأسيس معهد الدوحة للدراسات العليا في عام 2015 استجابة لحاجة علمية وأكاديمية ونهضوية ملحة، تتمثل في تطوير العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانيات في الوطن العربي. ورغم أن تطوير العلوم الحديثة عمومًا، والتعليم العالي خصوصًا، ظل أولوية عربية منذ بدايات عصر النهضة، إلا أن العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانيات لم تحظ بما تستحقه من اهتمام ودعم لأسباب كثيرة. ومن هذه تركيز بناة الدولة الحديثة على العلوم التطبيقية، وأيضًا إقبال الطلاب عليها وعلى التخصصات المهنية، لما تتيحه من جاه اجتماعي ومجالات توظيف أفضل. من جهة أخرى فإن ضيق مساحات الحرية الأكاديمية المتاحة في معظم الدول العربية لم توفر المناخ الملائم لتطوير العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانيات، بسبب حاجة الأخيرة إلى النقاش الحر المفتوح، والبيئة الاجتماعية المساندة.

وقد أصبحت تجربة المركز العربي للأبحاث ودراسة السياسات (أنشِئ عام 2010) مجالًا خصبًا لمواجهة تحديات أسئلة النهضة عبر نشاط بحثي رائد، ومداولات متعمقة حول هموم الواقع العربي المعاصر. وتزامنت نشأة المركز مع مظهر آخر من مظاهر التوق إلى نهضة عربية طال انتظارها، تمثلت في ثورات الشعوب التي فاجأت الجميع، وأظهرت ضعف المعرفة بواقع المجتمعات العربية الذي أخذ يتطور رغم القمع وضده. وقد أثبتت الانتفاضات كذلك توق الشباب العربي المستنير إلى التغيير الإيجابي. وقد انعقد العزم عند إدارة المركز العربي، بعد مداولات شملت قطاعًا واسعًا من العلماء والمفكرين من كل دول المنطقة ومختلف التخصصات والتوجهات، على إنشاء هذه المؤسسة الرائدة التي وقع الإجماع على أهميتها وضرورتها.

وقد أكدت الرؤية  المتميزة التي قام عليها المعهد على البناء على أحدث إنجازات المعرفة الإنسانية المعاصرة، دون أن يتناقض هذا مع تبني نظرة نقدية تجاه هذه الإنجازات، ولا مع تعزيز الطموح لدى الدارسين والباحثين لتقديم مساهمات أصيلة ترفد هذه المعرفة وتطورها. فلا ينبغي أن يكون العرب بمثابة المتلقي والتلميذ، وإنما يجب أن يكون الهدف تحقيق الندية في مجال إنتاج المعرفة، خاصة ما يتعلق منها بواقعنا وثقافتنا ولغتنا. ولهذا فإن الشراكة الاستراتيجية بين معهد الدوحة والمركز العربي (ومعه معجم الدوحة التاريخي)، مهمة لتحقيق هذه الأهداف. ويتم ذلك عبر تبني اللغة العربية كلغة تدريس، دون أن يعني ذلك إهمال اللغات العالمية، خاصة اللغة الإنكليزية، التي يشترط إتقانها للقبول. وتنطلق هذه السياسة اللغوية من إيمان بأن توطين العلوم عربيًا، وتطوير اللغة العربية كأداة تعليم وتعلم، هما مفتاح النهضة العربية. وتهدف الشراكة إلى تحفيز البحث، وتنظيم الملتقيات العلمية، وإنتاج دراسات رائدة في مختلف مجالات العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانيات.

وخلال العامين الماضيين، انطلقت مبادرات لنشر بحوث المركز باللغة الإنكليزية، إضافة إلى ما يقوم به أساتذة المعهد، وعدد من باحثي المركز وفروعه في أوروبا وأميركا من نشر أبحاث أصيلة باللغات الأجنبية. ويعزز هذا مع الشراكات الدولية والتواصل مع الباحثين من شتى أنحاء العالم، المكانة الدولية للمعهد والمركز في ساحات إنتاج المعرفة، والحوار الأكاديمي عالميًا من موقع ريادي.

ولا تقتصر مساهمات المعهد على الجانب النظري، بل تعطى أهمية كبيرة للجانب العملي، خاصة في تخصصات مثل علم النفس، والعمل الاجتماعي، ودراسات النزاع والعمل الإنساني والصحافة. فهنا يعتبر التدريب العملي جزءًا لا يتجزأ من الدراسة. ونفس الشيء يتم في مجال الإدارة العامة والسياسة العامة واقتصاديات التنمية، حيث تتضمن المقررات التدريب العملي.  وقد أطلق المعهد كذلك عددًا من البرامج التنفيذية في مجالات الإدارة العامة، والدبلوماسية، إضافة إلى برنامج تنفيذي مزدوج في إدارة الأعمال والإدارة العامة، بالاشتراك مع المدرسة الأوروبية للإدارة والتكنولوجيا في برلين (The European School of Management and Technology, ESMT). ويساهم الانخراط في المجال العملي في تعزيز سياسة المعهد في التفاعل مع المجتمع القطري، وخدمة المجتمع، وهو هدف محوري آخر من أهداف المعهد.

وقد واجه المعهد وهو يخطو خطواته الأولى تحديات كبرى، فوق التحدي الأساس الذي مثّله مشروعه الطموح، وعلى رأسها التحديات التي واجهتها دولة قطر من حصار واستهداف. وقد بدأنا العمل ومباني المعهد الحالية لم تكتمل بعد، وهو الآن يحتل مبنى يعتبر تحفة معمارية، يوفر مجال الدراسة، وكذلك السكن للأساتذة والطلاب.  وفي هذه الأيام، يواجه المعهد مع قطر والعالم كله جائحة فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)، وآثارها القريبة والبعيدة المدى. وقد غيرت هذه الأزمة وجه العالم، وبالأخص المؤسسات التعليمية التي تواجه تحديات غير مسبوقة. ولحسن الحظ فإن المعهد قد تأقلم بسرعة، حيث واصل مسيرته التعليمية بعد انقطاع يوم واحد فقط، خُصص للتدريب على التقنيات الجديدة. ولكن الوباء ما يزال يمثل تحديًا للعملية التعليمية، حيث يتابع المعهد مع الجهات المختصة من صحية وتعليمية آثاره وكيفية التعامل معها. وفي نفس الوقت، نفذ المعهد إجراءات للتعامل مع الجانب المالي للأزمة، بما لا يؤثر على جوهر العملية التعلمية ومتطلباتها. ونأمل أن يحقق المعهد، ومعه دولة قطر، نجاحًا آخر في التعامل مع الوباء وآثاره، تضاف إلى ما سبق من نجاحات.

وهذه بالطبع مناسبة لكي نزجي الشكر لدولة قطر وشعبها المضياف على الدعم الكبير الذي ما كان هذا المشروع ليحقق ما حقق من نجاح بدونه. ولا نعني هنا فقط احتضان قطر للمعهد، وتوفير مقومات نجاحه، ودعمه ماديًا ومعنويًا. فمعروف أن إقامة مؤسسة علمية بهذا الحجم والطموح لا تتحقق بمجرد توفير المباني والدعم المالي. فلا بد كذلك من توفير مناخ يتيح للعلم أن يزدهر وينمو. وهذا ما توفره قطر بتبنيها سياسة تعطي العلم مكانته. ومن هذا المنطلق فإن نجاح المعهد يعتبر إنجازًا آخر لقطر، يعزز من موقعها كفضاء رائد لتطوير التعليم وتجويده.

ولا أنسى كذلك أن أزجي هنا الشكر والتقدير لسلفي في رئاسة المعهد، الأكاديمي المتميز، والصديق العزيز، الدكتور ياسر سليمان معالي، الذي كانت له مساهمة مشهودة ومقدرة في تحقيق نجاح المعهد. أحيي وأشكر كذلك الجيل الأول من المؤسسين، خاصة العمداء السابقين، الدكتور رشيد العناني، سلفي في عمادة كلية العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية، وكل من الدكتور حسن علي والدكتور فيصل المنصوري، العمداء السابقين لكلية الإدارة العامة واقتصاديات التنمية، والدكتور سليمان أبو بدر، العميد السابق لكلية علم النفس والعمل الاجتماعي. أخص بالشكر والعرفان أيضًا من جيل المؤسسين الدكتور عبد الرحيم بنحادة، أستاذ التاريخ حاليًا، والعميد السابق لشؤون الطلاب، والدكتور إيليا زريق، رئيس برنامج علم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا الأسبق، والدكتور حميد دباشي، الأستاذ بجامعة كولومبيا، الذي عمل مستشارًا وأستاذًا زائرًا بالمعهد في السنوات الأولى. فلهم جميعًا، ولكثير ممن لم يتسع المقام لذكرهم، من الشكر أجزله.

أخيراً وليس آخراً، نشكر أعضاء مجلس الأمناء، السابقين والحاليين، ورئاسة المجلس، لأنهم من طرح الرؤية التي أصبحت أساس نجاح المعهد، ويسهرون على تمسكه بأعلى المعايير. فلهم كذلك التحية والشكر.

 

الدكتور عبد الوهاب الأفندي

رئيس المعهد بالوكالة ونائب الرئيس للشؤون الأكاديمية