At the highest institutional level, the DI is governed by a Board of Trustees (BoT). It appoints the DI president and, on the recommendation of the president, the vice president for academic affairs (provost) and the vice president for administration. The DI president appoints the dean for each school.

The academic and administrative affairs of the DI are governed by the Doha Institute Council, the highest executive body, and the Faculty Assembly, the highest faculty representative and consultative council; both councils are chaired by the president. At the level of the School, mechanisms are in place to encourage autonomous governance.

Board of Trustees

Guided by the authority conferred on it by the Institutional Bylaws, the BoT establishes policies for its internal operations, and elects from among its membership standing committees with specific mandates to assist in carrying out its duties.

The BoT is linked to the DI through the president and works to evaluate the DI's performance, overseeing the institutional long-term planning and affairs of the DI, including financial, academic, and organizational planning.

Doha Institute Council

As the DI's highest executive academic body, the Doha Institute Council (DI Council) approves and implements academic policies based on the Faculty Assembly's recommendations. The Council also approves decisions or proposals brought forth by the schools and programs.

The DI Council consists of the highest senior executive management of DI: the president (who chairs the Council), vice presidents, and the deans of schools.

Faculty Assembly

As the highest faculty representative and advisory body, the Faculty Assembly recommends and reviews all policies that affect the academic integrity and progress of the DI and the work environment and conditions of its faculty.

The Faculty Assembly is composed of DI faculty members, as detailed in the Faculty Assembly Bylaws. Its membership also includes the president as chair (ex-officio with the deciding vote as chair), the vice president for academic affairs, and all other vice presidents as ex-officio members.

School Governance

Each School is headed by a dean appointed by the DI president and reports to the vice president of academic affairs. Further, the Schools are divided according to academic programs, which are led by a program head. Each program head is responsible for the administration and academic development of the program.

The primary governance organ at the school level is the School Council, which is chaired by the dean. To encourage democratic governance and adequate representation, full-time faculty are also members of the School Council. In addition to recommending graduating candidates for degrees, the School Council also elects representatives to the Faculty Assembly.​

​​​

​​مجلس الأمناء​ هو أعلى هيئة في إدارة معهد الدوحة للدراسات العليا. ويتولى تعيين رئيس المعهد كما يعيّن، بناء على توصية من الرئيس، نائب الرئيس للشؤون الأكاديمية، ونائب الرئيس للشؤون الإدارية والمالية. ويعيّن رئيس المعهد عميدًا لكل كلية.

ويسيّر الشؤونَ الأكاديمية والإدارية للمعهد مجلسُ معهد الدوحة، بوصفه هيئة تنفيذية عليا، ومجلسُ هيئة التدريس، بوصفه هيئة تمثيلية واستشارية عليا لأعضاء هيئة التدريس. ويتولى رئيس المعهد رئاسة المجلسين معًا. وثمة آليات على مستوى الكليات لتشجيع الإدارة المستقلة.

مجلس الأمناء

يضع مجلس الأمناء، بموجب السلطة المخولة له في اللائحة المؤسسية، سياسات تنظّم عملياته الداخلية، وينتخب من بين أعضائه لجانًا دائمة ذات صلاحيات محددة للمساعدة في تنفيذ واجباته.

ويرتبط مجلس الأمناء عبر رئيسه بالمعهد، ويعمل المجلس على تقييم أداء المعهد، ويشرف على التخطيط المؤسسي فيه وعلى شؤونه على المدى البعيد، بما في ذلك التخطيط المالي والأكاديمي والتنظيمي.

مجلس معهد الدوحة

يتولى مجلس معهد الدوحة، بوصفه هيئة أكاديمية تنفيذية عليا، إقرارَ السياسات الأكاديمية وتنفيذها بناءً على توصيات مجلس هيئة التدريس. ويوافق المجلس أيضاً على القرارات أو المقترحات التي تطرحها كلّيتا المعهد وبرامجه.

يتألف مجلس معهد الدوحة من الإدارة التنفيذية العليا في المعهد، وهم الرئيس (الذي يرأس المجلس)، ونواب الرئيس، وعمداء الكليات.

مجلس هيئة التدريس

يرفع مجلس هيئة التدريس، بوصفه هيئة تمثيلية عليا وكونه هيئة استشارية، توصيات بالسياسات التي تؤثّر في النزاهة الأكاديمية وتنعكس على تقدم المعهد وبيئة العمل وظروف هيئة التدريس، ويراجعها.

يتألف المجلس من أعضاء هيئة التدريس في المعهد، كما هو مفصل في النظام الداخلي للجمعية العامة لهيئة التدريس. ويضم في عضويته أيضًا الرئيس الذي يرأس الهيئة (بحكم منصبه مع صوت مرجّح بوصفه رئيسًا)، ونائب الرئيس للشؤون الأكاديمية، وجميع نواب الرئيس الآخرين، وهم أعضاء بحكم المنصب.

إدارة الكليات

يترأس كل كلية عميدٌ يعيّنه رئيس المعهد، وهو مسؤول أمام نائب الرئيس للشؤون الأكاديمية. وتنقسم الكليات تبعًا لبرامجها الأكاديمية إلى أقسام يدير كلًّا منها مدير البرنامج المعنيّ، والذي يتولى إدارة البرنامج وتطويره أكاديميًّا.

وجهاز الإدارة الأساسي على مستوى الكلية هو مجلس الكلية الذي يرأسه العميد، ويضم بين أعضائه أيضًا أعضاء هيئة التدريس المتفرغين، وذلك لتشجيع وتحقيق التمثيل المناسب. ويقوم مجلس الكلية بانتخاب ممثلين لمجلس هيئة التدريس، إضافةً إلى تزكيته المرشحين الجامعيين للحصول على الشهادة.​​